Friday, September 18, 2009

Movie Review of Inglourious Basterds


Inglourious Basterds - 7.5/10
Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Cast - Brad Pitt,Eli Roth,Diane Krueger,Till Schweiger,Christoph Waltz

Plot Summary
In Nazi-occupied France during World War II, a group of Jewish-American soldiers known as "The Basterds" are chosen specifically to spread fear throughout the Third Reich by scalping and brutally killing Nazis. The Basterds soon cross paths with a French-Jewish teenage girl who runs a movie theater in Paris which is targeted by the soldiers.

Review
I've always enjoyed Quentin Tarantino's movies.My favourite of course is the unforgettable and often quoted,Pulp Fiction.After watching the trailer,I have to admit I was rather excited for quite a few reasons.1.it's a new Tarantino flick.2.Brad Pitt is acting. 3.It has nazis in it.But after watching Basterds,I was pretty much satisfied with the whole outcome.Basterds has all the traditional Tarantino trademark camera shots,a traditional Tarantino trademark script and of course traditional Tarantino trademark acting with usually 1 or 2 characters which will definitely stand out from the rest of the cast.These characters whom I am referring to are of course, Bard Pitt's Lt. Aldo Raine,a thick Tennesse accented leader of the basterds and much to my surprise(and delight) Christoph Waltz's cunning,pipe smoking (Standartenführer)Col.Hans Landa of the Waffen-SS turned Sicherheitsdienst (SD, Security Service) officer.Of the two characters,I'm pretty sure most of you will enjoy Col.Hans Landa even more.The rest of the cast were brilliant as well and everyone acted their part pretty well(but no one can do an Adolf Hitler like Bruno Ganz can in (Der Untergang) Downfall).
Direction was as usual..good.I liked the cameraworks alot especially the scene where you can see the camera moves from one point of view to another rather quickly so as to capture a 3 man conversation.Damn nice.I did however feel the editing department could have done a tad more better though as there was a sense of rush during the last 1/2 hour mark.But I read from somewhere that Tarantino had to rush the editing so as to put it out at Cannes.

I would recommend watching Inglourious Basterds on a weekend only if you are a Quentin Tarantino fan.If you are a fan of World War 2 movies,you will be sorely disappointed cause Basterds is not based on actual facts at all.But if you want to be a fan of Tarantino's works,I suggest you start off with Pulp Fiction then make your way to Inglourious Basterds.
Enjoy!

Best Quote
Sgt. Hugo Stiglitz: Say auf wiedersehen to your Nazi balls.

Lt. Archie Hicox: Well, if this is it, old boy, I hope you don't mind if I go out speaking the King's?

Col. Hans Landa: What a tremendously hostile world that a rat must endure. Yet not only does he survive, he thrives. Because our little foe has an instinct for survival and preservation second to none... And that Monsieur is what a Jew shares with a rat.

Lt. Aldo Raine: We got a German here who wants to die for his country! Oblige him!


Recommended movies done by the director
Pulp Fiction
Reservoir Dogs
Jackie Brown

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Movie Review of 9


9 - 7/10
Directed by Shane Acker
Cast - Elijah Wood,Jennifer Connelly,Christopher Plummer,Crispin Glover,John C.Reily

Plot Summary
A post-apocalyptic nightmare in which all of humanity is threatened.

Review
After watching the trailer for this movie,I was really intrigued to watch it just for the visual effects and also for the interestingly weird,A la- Tim Burton kinda storyline as well.Also since Tim Burton himself is one of the producers(the other is Timur Bekmambetov of Wanted fame) of 9.I was all the more eager to watch this movie.
Shane Acker who was working in the visual effects department for Return of The King(LOTR) was fantastic as the director of 9.The movie was visually breathtaking and yet it does have the gloomy sort of feel to it,especially the background designs.I have to admit I was thoroughly awed by the visuals.
but the storyline and script was sadly abit of a letdown.With a very good cast of actors for voice overs,I felt the actors were not fully utilized.You have talented actors like Jennifer Connelly,John C. Reily,Christopher Plummer and Elijah Wood..ok maybe Elijah Wood when you can't really see him onscreen(Sin city) cause other than that he acts like Frodo fucking Baggins.
From the trailer,there seems to be alot of action sequences,but you don't really feel much of the action when you are watching the movie.But one thing is for sure,despite the gloomy backdrops,the 9 characters or "stichpunks" as they are called by Shane Acker are indeed very likeable and to a certain degree..cute too.My favourite are the silent twins 3 and 4 whose mode of communication is flickering lenses.
9 is written and directed by Shane Acker as a short film as first,but alas it does not have the same vibe as District 9 did.(D9 was also a short film(Alive in Joburg) at first.) As good as he is in the visual effects department,he isn't that good in directing but then again,this is his first big movie.I guess he still has room to grow.

I wouldn't really recommend you to watch 9 during the weekends unless you have nothing else to watch.Preferable just watch it during the weekdays.

Best Quotes
1: Sometimes fear is the appropriate response.

7: What happens next?
9: I'm not sure. But this world is ours now. It's what we make of it.

Recommended movies done by the director
None.

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Movie Review of Gamer


Gamer - 2/10
Directed by Mark Neeldine, Brian Taylor
Cast - Gerard Butler,Kyra Sedgwick,Michael C.Hall,Ludicris

Plot Summary
Set in a future-world where humans can control other humans in mass-scale, multi-player online gaming environments, a star player (Butler) from a game called "Slayers" looks to regain his independence while taking down the game's mastermind

Review
Yet another movie brought to you by the guys who did Crank 1 and 2.Everything has to be over the top for these guys.And if you are not a fan of the Crank series,you definitely won't be a fan of Gamer either.I'm not a fan of any of them cos watching movies like this makes me wanna punch someone out of pure irritation.
Direction is just simply horrible.Even though,Gamer has an interesting cast which don't even know why the fuck for cause the script is shit and even a 3-legged dog with syphilis can act in any of the roles.You have ridiculous scenes like Protaganist drinks a whole bottle of liquor,goes to battle drunk,finds a truck,pisses and pukes into the truck's gas tank so he can drive the fucking truck to freedom.Do I really really need scenes like that to be entertained?Sigh...
Fuckall editing as well.Another reason why I hate this movie is the MTV-esque style of cinematography which may be cool for a 3-5 min music video but really fucking irritating for a 2 hour movie.
What the fuck were Gerard Butler,Michael C. Hall and Kyra Sedgewick thinking when they signed for this shit movie???I really hope for their sake that they at least got paid well for this.
If you really want to know what the fuck is Gamer about,just watch Running Man(which at least I was entertained).

Please do not even think about watching this movie.Its a waste of time and money and it also insults your intelligence.

Best Quote
None

Recommended movies done by the director
Crank
Crank 2:High Voltage
(I wouldn't recommend watching them)

Monday, September 14, 2009

Movie Review of The Ugly Truth


The Ugly Truth - 1/10
Directed by Robert Luketic
Cast - Gerard Butler,Katherine Hiegl

Plot Summary
A romantically challenged morning show producer is reluctantly embroiled in a series of outrageous tests by her chauvinistic correspondent to prove his theories on relationships and help her find love. His clever ploys, however, lead to an unexpected result

Review
By far,this is one of the worst romantic comedies for this year.Ugly Truth has SHIT written all over it.From a shit plot,to a shit script and worse...shit acting.What the fuck was Gerard Butler thinking????He has been doing so well right until now.Even PS,I Love You was good.It wasn't great but it wasn't shit like the Ugly Truth.My main beef with this movie is with a sellout cunt called Katherine Heigl.Now this cunt who is a regular in this TV series called Grey's Anatomy got her big break in movies when she acted in the Judd Apatow and friends movie called Knocked Up.Now Knocked up being a romantic comedy but it was alittle different from the usual romcoms I have seen.well for once,the guy isnt a fucking hunky dory looking fella.It was Seth Rogen.and Heigl was acting as his opposite.She did pretty well in her role,but once she got famous and all...she said she was humiliated and felt ashamed of doing such a chauvinistic movie(Knocked Up) which is insulting and degrades women.The bitch also mentioned she will never act in such movies ever.
Now the jokes between Ugly Truth and Knocked Up are miles apart.And to be honest I felt Ugly Truth's jokes were more insulting to women.Fuck all scenes like the vibrating underwear during dinner and the lame ass script that comes with it.so...Fuck Katherine Heigl..you fucking sellout "Charlize Theron" wannabe cunt.Maybe Gerard Butler thought it was Charlize Theron who was gonna act with him but turned out to be cunt who acts fuckall and looks like a fucking rotten Japanese pear,Katherine Heigl.Oh and don't even bother with Grey's Anatomy either.It sucks.

Besides the horrid acting,story and script,directing,cinematography and editing was average.This movie is really a waste of money,don't even bother watching it in the cinema even if a loved one forces you to.Guys,if a hot chick asks you to watch this movie with her,just slap her.She could be Katherine Heigl.Girls..if a guy asks you to watch this movie with him,slap him.He could be Katherine Heigl.

Best Quote
Abby Richter: My cat stepped on the remote.

Mike: Well, be sure to thank your pussy for me.

Recommended movies done by the director
Legally Blonde
Win a date with Tad Hamilton

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Movie Review of Bruno


Bruno - 8/10
Directed by Larry Charles
Cast - Sacha Baron Cohen

Plot Summary
Flamboyant Austrian fashionista Brüno takes his show to America.

Review
I am a big fan of Sacha Baron Cohen's works.I have enjoyed all 3 of his morbid characters.From Ali G,to Borat to Bruno.When Bruno came out in the cinemas,there was quite abit of controversy due to the nature of the movies themes.But anyone with an open mind will definitely enjoy it.Now after Borat,it was definitely harder to trick people especially celebrities as they know who Sacha is now. Even though some of the skits were scripted,it was nonetheless still funny.Bruno may not outdo Borat but I feel it is a movie that can stand on its own.Now the jokes are racist,sexist and some of the scenes will definitely make you go"what the fuck!" and some scenes will just make you groan and roll your eyes but all in all,you are bound to laugh your ass off.Even after the movie,I still couldn't stop laughing.
There's one particular scene about self defence and dildo which I'm pretty sure,you are gonna laugh none stop till your belly hurts.Sacha Baron Cohen has done it again and I will definitely look forward to his next movie.

If you are the type that is easily offended, then don't watch this movie cause it will piss the shit out of you.Other than that,I recommend everyone else to watch Bruno and have a good time about it.Despite that it is R21 and has 1min and 50secs worth of footage being cut,as it was deemed too crude,go watch Bruno.

Best Quotes
Brüno: So you were never gay?
Pastor Jody Trautwein: [shakes head] Mh-mh.
Brüno: It's ironic that you should have amazing blowjob lips.
Pastor Jody Trautwein: These-these lips were made to praise Jesus.

Brüno: I am going to be the biggest Austrian celebrity since Hitler.

Brüno: Can I give you guys a word of advice? Lose the beards, because your King Osama looks like a kind of dirty wizard... or a homeless Santa.

Brüno: It's just this bear took my clothes. He took everything apart from these condoms

Recommended movies done by the director
Borat
Religulous

Movie Review of District 9


District 9 - 8/10
Directed by Neil Blomkamp
Produced by Peter Jackson
Cast - Sharlto Copley

Plot Summary
An extraterrestrial race forced to live in slum-like conditions on Earth suddenly find a kindred spirit in a government agent that is exposed to their biotechnology.

Review
What a fantastic movie.When I first watched the trailer,I was awed by it. With Peter Jackson producing District 9, I couldn't wait for this movie to be out. As District 9 was only available in Cathay cinemas,I had to watch it on a weekday and left work early to catch it. I was not disappointed at the end of the movie.The emotional aspect of District 9 was just beautiful.At certain parts of D9,you will feel different emotions.D9 was filmed in Johannesburg,South Africa.This is Neil Blomkamp's first full length movie.He did a short film called "Alive in Joburg" which was what D9 was based on.Initially Peter Jackson and Neil Blomkamp were supposed to make Halo into a movie but that fell through.And when Peter Jackson watched "Alive in Joburg". He pumped in 30million for Blomkamp to make it into a full length movie.Now for a mere budget of 30million for a science fiction movie,D9 was done pretty well.The special effects and the make up was fantastic and of course done by WETA (LOTR).
I cant say much for the casting as everyone in this movie has never acted before even the protagonist.Wikus played by Sharlto Copley who was also in the short film as well.
Throughout the movie, you will feel different aspects of emotion through the protagonist,Wikus.D9 is also done in a mock documentary style which has a more realistic feel to it.The aliens are known as"prawns" and every alien portrayed in D9 is played by just one actor.Conversations between Wikus and the prawns were mostly improved.
At the end of the movie, I could only think of one line to sum up District 9 and that is "The evil that men do".

I would recommend everyone to watch this brilliantly done movie even on a weekend as well.Enjoy.

Best Quotes
Wikus Van De Merwe: [Points out Alien graffiti] This is basically a guy, and there's 3 humans here, basically trying to make a warning, you know, saying "I kill 3 humans, watch out for me."

Wikus Van De Merwe: Get your fookin' tentacle out of my face!

Recommended movies done by the Director
Alive in Joburg

Movie Review of G.I Joe


G.I Joe - 4/10
Directed by Stephen Sommers
Cast - Channing Tatum, Marlon Wayans,Dennis Quaid,Sienna Miller,Joseph Gordan Levitt

Plot Summary
An elite military unit comprised of special operatives known as G.I. Joe, operating out of The Pit, takes on an evil organization led by a notorious arms dealer.

Review
I went to watch this movie in the cinema with zero expectations,because after watching the trailers and reading bad reviews about G.I Joe,I knew this movie wasn't gonna do well and probably has a high tendency to get me annoyed but surprisingly it didn't.Well for one,I;m not a huge G.I Joe fan either and maybe that has made me enjoy the movie.I do not know much about most of the characters except for Snake Eyes and the Cobra Commander.Casting for each characters were interesting.Channing Tatum is an actor whose movies I have not seen...movies like step up 1 and step up 2..fuck that.But he does pretty well as Duke in G.I Joe.I'm interested to see what are his future movie projects will be.Marlon Wayans as Ripcord was alittle odd cos Ripcord was a white guy in the comics(or so I have been told) and like all typical big budgeted Hollywood movies,the black guy is the comedian and watching Marlon Wayans say (supposed)funny lines without and crude vulgarity isn't something for me..Sigh I miss In Living Colours...but at least he has a good bod.Sienna Miller is an actress which I'm not really big fan of..To me she's just like Jennier Aniston but only British...pretty but cant act and always whines about ex boyfriends..Fuck that.Ray Park as Snake Eyes was brilliant and so was Byung-Hun Lee as Storm Shadow.Joseph Levitt as the Cobra Commander was a cool choice as Levitt has grown from the kid in 3rd Rock from the Sun to many indie flicks.I've always preferred the original whiny voice(same guy who voiced Starscream in Transformers cartoon) of the Cobra Commander in the cartoons to the movie.But kudos to Levitt for bringing his own style to it.The Mask sucks ass by the way.I was very disappointed with that.It looks like an asphyxiating headgear.

The storyline was pretty decent.Even though the special effects were not exactly top notch,but I liked the Eiffel Tower scene the most.Editing was not bad but could have done better.Cinematography and camera works weren't great but watchable.The fight scenes between Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow were good and the whole car chase scene was exciting.
All in all if you watch this movie with low or zero expectations,you will be entertained.

Watch on a weekday if not wait for the DVD.

Best Quotes
Duke: [after crashing into cars while running in the accelerator suits] Okay, that was crazy... What happened to you?

Ripcord: I went through the train. What happened to you?

Duke: I jumped over it.

Ripcord: [pause] You can do that?

Duke: I told you to read that manual.

Ripcord: There's a manual?

The Baroness: [Snake Eyes has left their car] He must have given up.

Storm Shadow: He never gives up.

Breaker: [about Snake Eyes] He doesn't talk.

Duke: Why?

Breaker: He doesn't say.

Recommended movies done by the Director
The Mummy
The Mummy Returns

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Movie Review of The Hangover


The Hangover - 8/10
Directed by Todd Phillips
Cast -Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis,Mike Tyson

Plot Summary
A Las Vegas-set comedy centered around three groomsmen who lose their about-to-be-wed buddy during their drunken misadventures, then must retrace their steps in order to find him.

Review
Its been awhile but this is definitely one of the best comedies for this year...The whole movie,I was going either my "what the fuck" expression or I was just laughing out really loud.I must say this is definitely Todd Phillip's best work.The direction was simply fantastic.Editing was good and so was the cinematography.But what really makes this movie tick(le) is the script and the acting cast.The scene stealer is easily Zach Galifianakis.Every time he is on screen,he will just make you laugh so hard or just groan cause of what he just did or said.The lines he says and the perfect comedic timing he has will definitely make him him a bigger star soon.I remembered Zach Galifianakis when he was doing this tv series called Man bites Dog (which media corpse copied it calling it The Noose or some shit like that) and just like this movie,he was such a joy to watch.The 3 main actors have really fantastic chemistry and comedic timing,you would really think that these guys were really best friends or some shit like that.now the storyline would probably make u remember of the shit you used to do when you had or went to a bachelor's party or even just a party where you and your friends just get so smashed and go ape shit till you can never remember what happened the night before.And that's what got me interested in this movie in the first place.Another good thing about this movie is by the near end of this movie,you will be dying to find out what else did these guys do during the whole night...and when you finally do get to see what they did,you are bound to go...OMG!!! or just laugh like fuck.I totally recommend everyone and their friends to go watch this movie even on a weekend.The women may or may not totally get this movie but the guys will definitely will.Enjoy!!

Best Quotes
Black Doug: I always wondered why they were called roofies. Cause you're more likely to end up on the floor than the roof. They should call em floories.
Alan Garner: Or rapies.

Stu Price: [singing passionately] What do tigers dream of when they take their little tiger snooze? Do they dream of mauling zebras, or Halle Berry in her Catwoman suit? Don't you worry your pretty striped head, we're gonna get you back to Tyson and your cozy tiger bed. And then we're gonna find our best friend Doug, and then we're gonna give him a best friend hug. Doug, Doug, oh, Doug, Dougie, Dougie, Doug, Doug! But if he's been murdered by crystal meth tweakers, well then we're shit out of luck.

Phil Wenneck: You're not really wearing that are you?
Alan Garner: Wearing what?
Phil Wenneck: The man purse. You actually gunna wear that or are you just fuck'n with me? Alan Garner: It's where I keep all my things. Get a lot of compliments on this. Plus it's not a purse, it's called a satchel. Indiana Jones wears one.
Phil Wenneck: So does Joy Behar.

Doug Billings: Tracy did mention we shouldn't let him gamble. Or drink too much.
Phil Wenneck: Jesus, he's like a gremlin. Comes with instructions and shit.

Stu Price: She's got my grandmother's Holocaust ring!
Alan Garner: I didn't know they gave out rings at the Holocaust.

Recommended movies done by the director
Road Trip
Old School
Starsky and Hutch

Movie Review of Up


Up - 7/10
Directed by Pete Docter,Bob Peterson
Cast - Edward Asner,Christopher Plummer,Jordan Nagai

Plot Summary
By tying thousands of balloon to his home, 78-year-old Carl Fredricksen sets out to fulfill his lifelong dream to see the wilds of South America. Right after lifting off, however, he learns he isn't alone on his journey, since Russell, a wilderness explorer 70 years his junior, has inadvertently become a stowaway on the trip.

Review
Usually I'm not a fan of Disney and eversince they bought over Pixar,there weren't many animation movies which had a really good story and actually funny scenes.Because most animation movies always concentrated the animation part,they just kinda forgot about the story and all.Up on the other hand doesn't really have the state of the art animation and all that but it sure does have a story and a funny one I might add.
I really like the casting for this movie and how the characters look like.and my favourite character is of course the ever likable Russell.Another good thing about Up is through the whole movie you will go through all kinds of emotions except anger.And there are so many scenes where you just cant stop laughing and wish you could watch that part all over again.

I would really recommend everyone to watch this movie with your loved ones or with your kids.You are bound to laugh yr socks off.Totally worth watching on a weekend.

Best Quote
Dug: [to the bird Kevin] Won't you please be my prisoner, please please please!
Russell: Can we keep him? Please, please, please?
[Carl says "No."] Carl Fredricksen: No.
Russell: But it's a TALKING DOG!

Recommended movies done by the director
Monsters Inc.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Movie Review of Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince


Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince - 5.5/10
Directed by David Yates
Cast - Daniel Radcliffe,Emma Watson,Rupert Grint

Plot Summary
As Harry Potter begins his 6th year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, he discovers an old book marked mysteriously "This book is the property of the Half-Blood Prince" and begins to learn more about Lord Voldemort's dark past.

Review
This movie is strictly for fans of the Harry Potter series be it by books or by the movies.If you have no inkling on anything about Harry Potter,this movie will be a waste of time for you cause you will have no idea what the fuck is going on.Now Half Blood Prince starts straight on from where the previous movie left off...so be sure to watch the order of phoenix before you watch this movie.
Now HBP is much more different than all its predecessors.The first few had alot of humour and the main characters were young and adorable.Now they have all grown up and there is very little humour in HBP.Storyline is almost like the book which is dark and of course there will be a main character being killed off in this one.I really liked the colour treatment and pacing for HBP.The editing was not bad but there is definitely bound to be additional scenes which were cut due to time constraint.HBP is about 2.5 hours long and the director does a commendable job of keeping the audience awake.
Acting was good..and there was more of Alan Rickman's Severus Snape this time.Michael Gambon as Dumbledore definitely outdid himself for this movie.I was impressed with him even though I always preferred the late Richard Harris.Another character which I found has done well is Tom Felton's Draco Malfoy.
Despite some of the vital parts of the book not shown in the movie,HBP was still a treat to watch.
The only negative thing about HBP is there was alittle too much emphasis on the 3 main character's growing hormones.

Other than that,I would recommend only true fans of Harry Potter to watch this movie.If you are not,go watch something else.

Best Quotes
Ron Weasley: How much are these?
Fred Weasley, George Weasley: 5 galleons.
Ron Weasley: How much for me?
Fred Weasley, George Weasley: 5 galleons.
Ron Weasley: I'm your brother!
Fred Weasley, George Weasley: 10 galleons.

Professor Minerva McGonagall: Why is it that whenever something happens, you three are always involved?
Ron Weasley: Believe me, professor, I've been asking myself that for the last six years.

Albus Dumbledore: Severus, please...
Severus Snape: Avada Kedavra!

Recommended movies done by the director
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Movie Review of Ice Age 3


Ice Age 3 - 4/10
Directed by Carlos Saldanha
Cast - Ray Romano,John Leguiziamo,Denis Leary,Queen Latifah,Simon Pegg

Plot Summary
When Sid's attempt to adopt three dinosaur eggs gets him abducted by their real mother to an underground lost world, his friends attempt to rescue him.

Review
I am a big fan of the first Ice Age.It is to me the most funniest animation cartoon I have watched.I simply loved the 3 main character's chemistry in the movie.In Ice Age 2 however,they started introducing new characters,it was interesting but it kinda got boring.In Ice Age 3,they just totally threw the plot away and just concentrated on the whole 3D ride which is an interesting and in thing now.The 3D prospect was good but in a movie you just need to have a decent plot at least.
Back to the movie,of all the three Ice Age movies,This has the best animation done.The chemistry between the 3 main charcters has been jaded alittle.Diego,in my opinion was kinda underutilized even Sid as well.Alot of screentime went to Scrat instead which I felt was for the kids.Don't get me wrong...I do like Scrat's character but halfway through the movie,I was beginning to get sick and tired of seeing Scrat.The new character by Simon Pegg had its moments.There are some jokes which were pretty funny and some which totally fall flat...

Overall I wouldn't really recommend anyone to watch this movie on a weekend unless you are a fan..if not just wait for the DVD.

Best Quote
Sid:[about the baby mammoth]
Sid: It's a boy!
Diego: That's a tail
Sid: It's a girl!

Manny: [Sid guards the three baby Tyrannosaurs from an adult] Sid! Give them to her! She's their mother!
Sid: How do I know she's their mother?
Manny: What do you want, a birth certificate? She's a *dinosaur*!

Recommended movies done by the director
Ice Age
Robots
Ice Age 2

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Movie Review of Transformers:Revenge of the fallen


Transformers: Revenge of the fallen - 3/10
Directed by Michael Bay
Cast - Shia Lebouf, Megan Fox,Josh Duhamel,Tyrese Gibson

Plot Summary
Decepticon forces return to Earth on a mission to take Sam Witwicky prisoner, after the young hero learns the truth about the ancient origins of the Transformers. Joining the mission to protect humankind is Optimus Prime, who forms an alliance with international armies for a second epic battle.

Review
By now,most of you must have watched Transformers:ROTF.When I wrote the review for Transformers 1,I mentioned that Micheal Bay did a pretty good job and he is actually no longer no.2 on my shitlist of most hated directors.So when Transformers:ROTF was coming out...I waited with anticipation cause I had a feeling it was gonna be fantastic.Because I have been checking out the trailers and reading about who and what will be in the sequel.Any Transformers fan,would be squealing with excitement after they got the news that Devastator and (my personal favourite) Soundwave will be appearing as well.So there I was waiting with anticipation...squealing with excitement as well...thinking to myself,"Finally a proper blockbuster,because after the massively disappointing Terminator SHIT Salvation"
Boy...Was I wrong...So fucking wrong...
June 27th,Saturday,3pm,GV Vivo was when I watched Transformers:ROTF.After 2.5 hrs,I came out of the cinema,feeling completely disgusted and was wondering to myself...What the fuck just happened?The amount of loopholes and errors in this movie is so fucking unbelievable!
I wanted to fucking maim the writers,Roberto Orci and Ehren Kruger.I cannot believe these writers and between them,they have written movies like Star Trek(Orci),Mission Impossible 3(Orci),Reindeer Games(Kruger),The Brothers Grimm(Kruger) that they have possibly written the most retarded shit ever.Did they swallow Micheal Bay and Brett Ratner's sperm just so that they can be fucking idiots and write a nimrod story.And were they masturbating while watching Lord of the Rings and Terminator 3?Because in some parts of the movie,there just so happens to be a Decepticon who transforms from a GIRL to the fucking Terminatrix!!! and why the fuck is there a heaven with Fucking Autobots in it?????
And of course i wanted to do everything unimaginably gruesome to Michael (ChowChee) Bay.(I did a little read up on him,I fucking laughed when I read that this motherfucker thinks,believes and MAINTAINS that his father is John Frankenheimer.FUCK YOU ARSEHOLE! you don't even have to take a DNA test to prove he is your father...just look at his talent and the lack of yours.)

Everyone by now knows,Michael Bay has a hard on for explosions(just look at the recommended movies below).but at least they all did have a proper story albeit it can be a tad ridiculous.But what he has done here is just blow shit up,get the animation fellas to do somethings really cool and that's about it.He totally just disregarded a very important thing called the plot and he probably got a blind guy to do the editing as well.

Besides the shit storyline and the shit direction,
Why am I giving this movie a 3?because despite all the mess and rubbish,there are only 2 scenes where the animation department did a fucking brilliant job.The fight scene in the forest and the fight scene involving bumblebee.and of cos my beloved SOUNDWAVE(with original voice). SOUNDWAVE is so smart,he KNEW this movie directed by that Fucktard Michael Bay would totally suck shit and the plot would be totally fucked,so he decided to stay in space and just do recon stuff.Smart Fucker...

Don't even bother about the script cos if you read the best quotes below,only SOUNDWAVE says the cool lines,the rest are all either retarded or someone screaming someone else's names out loud.

Regardless of whether you are a Transformers fan or not,you will find this movie bitterly disappointing.But you still have to watch it just so you know why is everyone pissed off about this movie.
And yea...Bay is back on my shitlist...

Best Quote
Soundwave: Autobot presence detected. Commence termination.
Soundwave: Soundwave acknowledges...
Soundwave: Decepticons mobilize. It is time.

Sam Witwicky: BUMBLLEEEBEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!
Sam Witwicky: OPTIMMUUUUUUUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!
Mikaela Banes: SAAMMM!
Recommended movies done by the director
Bad Boys
Armageddon
The Rock

Movie Review of Duplicity


Duplicity - 2/10
Directed by Tony Gilroy
Cast - Clive Owen,Julia Roberts,Paul Giamatti,Tom Wilkinson

Plot Summary
A pair of corporate spies who share a steamy past hook up to pull off the ultimate con job on their respective bosses.

Review
Tony Gilroy 2nd attempt at directing.His first was Michael Clayton which was a pretty decent effort.When I first read the plot summary,I wanted to watch this movie cause I love watching movies based on cons and heist and there was a romantic element involved in it.Even though Julia Roberts and Clive Owen are not my favourite actors,I just wanted to check it out.I thoroughly enjoyed movies like The Thomas Crown Affair and Ocean's Eleven.But unfortunately Duplicity failed to make it enjoyable.The plot to me was somehow alittle too confusing and the end wasn't really satisfying enough.For con or heist movies it's usually at the end where everything is revealed like how it was done and all that,Duplicity's ending on the other end was alittle too quick and not really convincing enough.
Direction was pretty standard and so was the cinematography.Editing was ok except for that irritating rectangular transitions they keep using.Acting as usual was below par.Julia Roberts seems like she was bored all the time.Clive Owen for one can never be a British spy and is quite horrible at giving out one liners as well.Paul Giamatti was brilliant as he usually is but I cant say much for Tom Wilkinson except that he was severely under utilized for this movie.

Better to wait this out than watching it in the cinemas.Not worth the ticket money at all.

Best Quote
Claire Stenwick: I found these in your closet.

Ray Koval: I swear to you I have no idea who they belong to.

Claire Stenwick: Well in that case I'll put them back on.

Ray Koval: You're gaming me?

Recommended movies done by the director
Michael Clayton

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Movie Review of Terminator Salvation


Terminator Salvation - 3/10
Directed by McG
Cast - Christian Bale,Sam Worthington,Moon Bloodgood,Bryce Dallas Howard

Plot Summary
After Skynet has destroyed much of humanity in a nuclear holocaust, a group of survivors led by John Connor struggles to keep the machines from finishing the job.

Review
Why why why did this movie had to suck ass??? You had all the correct elements for this movie.First its a fucking Terminator movie! Second,you have Christian fucking Bale as John Connor.Third you have a big budget.Even the trailers were so good,I couldn't wait to watch the movie.So what went wrong?
1.there were just way too many "tribute" shots,lines and scenes.The first few times,yea...it was nice and nostalgic but if you keep repeating it about 2000 fucking times in a movie,you are bound to be pissed.And the whole "I'll be back" line was totally misused and at such a wrong timing,it was just ridiculous.Everyone in the cinema laughed.

2.Editing made Terminator Salvation totally unbearable to watch.For a big budget,blockbuster movie,this has an editing done by 5 year olds.The longer the movie went,the more I wanted to stab the entire editing department's eyes out.and WHO THE FUCK USES A FADE OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF A FUCKING ACTION MOVIE???

3.Casting and Christian Bale(sadly).Bryce Dallas Howard shares the same curse as Sofia Coppola.Both of their fathers are good directors and unfortunately their daughters cannot fucking act to save their lives.seriously..Howard was fuckall in The Village and Lady in the Water and she sure as hell is fuckall in this movie as well.Anton Yelchin is not a suitable Kyle Reese...period.Moon Bloodgood is an actress whom I do wanna check out in other movies.She was promising.Sam Worthington did pretty well and I think he is gonna be a good action movie actor provided he gets rid of that silly thick Australian accent.There were 3 Black actors in this movie.One was Terry Crewes which you immediately find him dead in the first 10 mins of the movie which was pretty hilarious.The other is a mute girl called Star whose character is totally redundant and then there is an actor by the name of Common as a resistance fighter.Common????
And last but not least,Christian Bale.This is a guy who did powerhouse movies like American Psycho,Dark Knight and The Prestige.I have no idea why he chose to be part of this movie.And the way he acted is just plain atrocious.I know its an action movie and you don't really need to act like as if its a period drama or something.but what the fuck man?You are Christian Bale for god's sake! you don't have to act like a retard and shout out your character's name every 5000 times.Fuck! If I was the DP who you shouted at during filming,I would have slapped you till you finally forget you are John Connor.

4.McG.For a director who uses just 3 letters of his full name(Joseph McGinty Nichol) instead,we as the audience should have known earlier that this fucking idiot shouldn't be given the directorial job.This is the idiot who did Charlie's Angels and its sequel.Up till today I still cant believe how he managed to totally,single handedly fuck up Terminator Salvation.He has no fucking clue what he is doing and what direction he is going along with.McG is now 2nd in my Shitlist of Directors.Fuck you,McG.

The first time I went to watch this movie with my friends,I was too drunk and fell asleep,so I went to watch it the next day...I wished I was drunk then as well.
Do not bother with this movie.Biggest disappointment for 2009.And to all Terminator fans,just go and watch T1 and T2,Those are still the best.Only reason I gave this piece of shit a 3, is for the track shot of the helicopter scene and Moon Bloodgood.(cool name)

Best Quotes
John Connor: If we stay the course, we are dead! WE ARE ALL DEAD!

John Connor: We've been fighting a long time. We are out numbered by machines. Working around the clock,without quit. Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are listening to this,you are the resistance.

Recommended movies done by the director
None!
Fuck Charlie's Angels
Fuck Charlie's Angels Full Throttle
Fuck McG

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Movie Review of Star Trek


Star Trek - 7.5/10
Directed by J.J Abrams
Cast - Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto,Leonard Nimoy,Eric Bana

Plot Summary
A chronicle of the early days of James T. Kirk and his fellow USS Enterprise crew members.

Review
What a fun ride...I have never been a fan of Star Trek and I hate Trekkies.But I did watch this movie with an open mind and of course,my appreciation for J.J Abrams.Abrams has once again proven that he can make a really good action packed movie for everyone to enjoy.He did fantastic with Mission Impossible 3(to which I think is the best among the trilogy) and I was simply awed by Cloverfield.Kudos to J.J Abrams..I will continue to watch your movies.

Now back to Star Trek,I'm pretty sure alot of die hard Trekkie fans will hate this movie.There are quite a few loopholes and certain elements of the movie might just irritate the shit out of a Trekkie.Even the director said it himself.That's why its more like a reboot.Back to basics kind of shit.I'm pretty sure there will definitely be more fans of Star Trek now than ever.

The casting I have to say is pretty good.Thank god,William Shatner doesn't appear in this movie cause he is an idiot.The whole word by word pause really bugs me.Chris Pine does a good job as James Kirk.Zach Quinto(Sylar of Hero) does a fantastic job as Spock.I could barely recognize Eric Bana as Nero(Romulus Bad Boy).Zoe Saldana as Uhura was hot,though her acting was much to be desired but then again its an sci fi action movie,I don't need to see Oscar winning acting here.And of course everyone's favourite scene which would have definitely brought back memories and a smile on their face was Leonard Nimoy as Spock Prime.

The CGI for this movie isn't really outstanding but it does enough for the battle scenes. The one thing which I really liked was the Sound effects.Simply mind blowing...My favourite sound was when the enterprise blasts off to light speed.

All in all,Star Trek is really a enjoyable ride.Worth the watch and buying the DVD as well.

Best Quotes
Spock: Live long, and Prosper.

Spock: [closing monologue] Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Her ongoing mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life-forms and new civilizations; to boldly go where no one has gone before.


Recommended movies done by the director
Mission Impossible 3
Cloverfield

Monday, April 13, 2009

Movie Review of Fast and Furious 4


Fast and Furious 4 - 5.5/10
Directed by Justin Lin
Cast - Vin Diesel, Paul Walker,Michelle Rodriguez,Jordana Brewster

Plot Summary
Brian O'Conner, now working for the FBI in LA, teams up with Dominic Toretto to bring down a heroin importer by infiltrating his operation.

Review
I am not a car enthusiast(cos I rather drink than drive) and I do not know much about cars and all that shit.But what I do enjoy is a good car chase movie.Classic Car chase movies like French Connection(Gene Hackman),Bullit(The Great Steve Mcqueen) and Vanishing Point were a real treat to watch.Even the later movies like the Bourne series and a few others were great.
Now I have watched all four movies of the Fast and Furious franchise and I got to admit,I enjoyed the first and the current one the best.Fast and Furious 4 has all the right ingredients for a good car chase and action movie.Vin Diesel is back and I do like this fella.He cant act for shit though but he is a good action movie star.Just like my all time favourite action movie hero of the 80's and 90's...Arnold Schwarzenegger.I recently watched the Riddick Chronicles and I enjoyed it as well.Babylon AD was just so so and The Pacifier was shit.But whatever it is Vin Diesel returns alongside with Paul Walker and the stupid woman who can't keep her big fucking mouth shut,Michelle Rodriguez.Why do u ask,on why I am berating her for her big fucking mouth.Its not because she talks alot in this movie...Its because recently she said(whined) in a televised interview,about why she doesn't get any satisfying roles and all the upcoming movies she has done in 2009,she will die.All this because she is not a white woman(or some shit like that).
Its fucking bad enough she is whining about how limited her roles are just because she is a woman...For Fuck's Sake!!! You are a Hollywood actress,You are well known,You can act(sometimes) and You were in LOST(Series)!!!There are lots of unknown female actresses who have a much better acting talent than you who would love to have at least half of whatever your roles,you have done.AND WHY THE FLYING FUCK WOULD YOU TELL OUT SPOILERS THAT YOU ARE GONNA FUCKING DIE IN EVERY UPCOMING 2009 MOVIE YOU ARE IN????why the fuck would you do something like that for? what did we....the audience,the movie fanatics do to you???It's stupid shits like this that pisses me off.Fuck you Cunt! I really hope you die for real in all the 2010 movies,you are gonna act in.

The camera works for FF4 was not bad actually.Alot of really good tight shots were use for the car chase scenes and editing was ok too.My favourite scene would be the chase in the tunnel.Justin Lin direction was not bad as well.I would say he did a pretty decent job for FF3 and FF4 as well.There's nothing much going on for the acting department since the whole movies concentrates on the cars.As some of my car enthusiast friends told me,there weren't much Asian cars this time,more on American muscle cars.Which I don't give a fuck about..cause like I mentioned earlier,I rather Drink than Drive.

Worth watching on a weekday...and that's about it.Watch it on a weekend only if you are really that bored.

Best Quote
Dominic Toretto: I like 20% angel, 80% devil.

Brian O'Conner: This is where my jurisdiction ends. Dominic Toretto: And this is where mine begins

Recommended movies done by the director
Finishing the Game(The search for a new Bruce Lee)
Tokyo Drift

Movie Review of Fanboys


Fanboys - 4.5/10
Directed by Kye Newman
Cast - Sam Huntington,Chris Marquette,Dan Fogler,Jay Baruchel

Plot Summary
"Star Wars" fans travel to Skywalker Ranch to steal an early copy of "Episode I: The Phantom Menace".

Review
After watching the trailer,I really wanted to watch this movie.Well I am a Star Wars fan and this is a movie about Star Wars fans.From the trailer,there are lots of cameo appearances and all the parts did look funny.Unfortunately,the movie itself isn't good.All the funny parts are in the trailer and thats about it.
There are scenes which would make you feel nostalgic and all and especially when they do the classic Star Wars lines.Even the scene where you have the Star Wars fanboys go against the Star Trek fanboys.
The acting isn't really good.Some of the actors just dont look the part and does not convince me as being funny.
The direction is pretty bad and so is the cinematography.The biggest dissappointment is the editing.I feel the editing is what made the movie look very flat and mediocre.
All in all,I wouldnt recommend anyone to watch this movie at the cinema on a weekend.
Watch in on a weekday or just wait for the dvd so you can rent it out.

Best Quote
Hutch: Nobody calls Han Solo a bitch!

Recommended movies done by the directorNone

Friday, March 27, 2009

Movie Review of Gran Torino


Gran Torino - 3/10
Directed by Clint Eastwood
Cast - Clint Eastwood,Bee Vang,Ahney Her

Plot Summary
Disgruntled Korean War vet Walt Kowalski sets out to reform his neighbor, a young Hmong teenager, who tried to steal Kowalski's prized possession: his 1972 Gran Torino.

Review
When it comes to western movies,I have always been a Clint Eastwood fan more than a John Wayne fan.In fact I couldn't stand John Wayne.I guess it must be my age cause I pretty much grew up to Eastwood movies.And I still remember when I first watched Dirty Harry with his trusty fucking Magnum spewing out his evergreen classic scene," You feeling lucky punk?do ya?(etc,etc)".
I have also watched most of his directed movies as well.The ones I didn't like were Flags of our Fathers and Letters from Iwo Jima,which both i found too slow and draggy.I enjoyed Million dollar baby and Mystic Rivers(one of the few Sean Penn movies I like)and what I will always love about Clint Eastwood is his Dirty Harry series.And after watching Gran Torino,this movie could well be the final chapter,Dirty Harry on his retirement.because Walt Kowalski(Eastwood's character) is no different then Harry Callahan and no one can do these roles like it is than Clint Eastwood.
Now like all of his movies,The pace is slow with simple camera works and cinematography.Editing was pretty much standard as well.What I really hated about Gran Torino is the shitty script and the casting.This is definitely one of the worst castings I have seen.I do like the idea behind the plot but what I didn't like in fact what I fucking hate is,it's too politically correct.Gran Torino would have been a more convincing and believable movie if you had the bad guys as Black or Latino street gangsters,even if you had Chinese gangsters,I would be ok with it.But Hmong gangsters???WHO AND WHAT THE FUCK IS HMONG? IS THERE ANY PART OF THIS WORLD THAT HAS HMONG GANGSTERS???And to make it even more fucking ridiculous,you go get actual Hmong people acting in this movie.Bee Vang is the boy who acts like a pussified teenage gay boy who cant stand for himself and gets bullied(unconvincingly) all the time but Hmong gangsters who run the streets.This fucker cannot act to save his own life.every time I see the fucker on screen,i want to stab him.The worst scene is when he shouts angrily but to me it sounded like a cat in the middle of the nite moaning out a mating call.It's that fucking bad.This idiot should never act again.Fuck Bee Vang.Ahney Her(even her name sounds like what u call out to a prata seller) who acts as his sister is bad as well.Her worst scene is trying to convince the audience (which is me) that she was raped and beaten badly by Hmong gangsters.Not only should she(Ahney "2 prata,1 egg 1 kosong" Her),her cunt of a brother,Bee Vang and the entire Hmong cast of gangsters should be beaten to a pulp with a tire iron.Fuck Them All!!!
Like I mentioned earlier,Gran Torino would be way much better without the politically correct bullshit.Don't pussify the fucking plot.It should have an Asian family(Chinese preferable) as the victims.Black street gangsters as the bad guys and Clint Eastwood as Dirty Kwoalski cleaning shit up.

Don't bother watching this movie at all cost.Definitely Eastwood's worst directorial movie!

Best Quote
Thug: What you lookin' at old man?

Walt Kowalski: Ever notice how you come across somebody once in a while you shouldn't have messed with? That's me.

Walt Kowalski: Oh, I've got one. A Mexican, a Jew, and a colored guy go into a bar. The bartender looks up and says, "Get the fuck out of here."

Recommended movies by the director
Pale Rider
Mystic River
Million Dollar Baby
Space Cowboys

A Perfect World

Movie Review of The Watchmen


The Watchmen - 8.5/10
Directed by Zack Snyder
Cast - Billy Crudup,Jackie Earle Haley,Jeffery Dean Morgan,Patrick Wilson,Carla Gugino,Malin Akerman

Plot Summary
When an ex-superhero is murdered, a vigilante named Rorschach begins an investigation into the murder, which begins to lead to a much more terrifying conclusion.

Review
There have been mixed reviews about the watchmen.I guess most of those who hated the movie is because they felt it was just too long and was probably thinking this was gonna be a highly exciting,explosives filled,special effects extravaganza movie because most comic turned movies are like that.And then there are those who have read the comic but still didn't find it faithful enough.Well,in my opinion I thought this was a fantastic movie.and I have read the comic novel as well.Even though there has been a few changes,I did find the changes acceptable.
The title sequence was brilliant.From the title sequence itself,there are some references and all.I loved the colouring of the movie,it does give a gloomy feel to it(a la Gotham city).The special effects were fantastic,like his previous movie 300, Zack Snyder uses the slow motion sequence for all the hand combat scenes.
Direction was great.Zack Snyder did a great job in 300, and now for the Watchmen as well.I just simply loved the transition from a comic panel to a movie scene.
The kill scenes were also awesome and there are some parts you probably might cringe alittle.The script was really good even though most of the lines are from the comic itself.I did enjoy the editing as well but there are one or two scenes where the cuts were abrupt.I'm not sure if this is due to the editor or the censorship board.as you know this movie was given an M18 rating.It should have been given a R21 rating instead because anyone below that age would probably be too stupid to understand the movie.This is a movie for adults... not for fucking kids.
Acting was also good.Everyone's favourite character was definitely Rorschach.And Jackie Earle Haley did a perfect job acting as Rorschach.His growl like voice was just perfect.I found his much better than Batman as well.As Rorschach does the narration as well,you would feel as the viewer,you are thinking as him.Billy Crudup as Dr Manhattan was pretty cool.The only funny thing is whenever you see Dr Manhattan,you are bound to see his huge CGI blue penis.It does get alittle distracting.The chemistry between Patrick Wilson (NiteOwl 2) and Malin Akerman(Silk Spectre 2) is ok but the love scenes were alittle too long and should have been cut short instead.
Another thing I found interesting was the soundtrack.You have songs from the 70's to 80's.From Nat King Cole's Unforgettable to Nena's 99 Luft Balloons.As the movie's timeline is during the 80's,the songs selected for the soundtrack was perfect.

All in all,I would highly recommend movie lovers to check this movie out.Even those are not and have not read the comic before.And secretly I wish Alan Moore(Creator) would check this movie out as well.As he hates all of his comics turned to movies were pretty much shit.League of Extra ordinary Gentlemen was shit.Constantine was ok but it had Keanu Reeves in it so it's shit as well.V for Vendetta was ok but it had Natalie Portman overdoing it.So the Watchmen is it.It is in my opinion...Definitely in my top 10 list for best movie in 2009.


Best Quote
Adrian Veidt: It doesn't take a genius to see the world has problems. Edward Blake: No, but it takes a room full of morons to think they're small enough for them to handle.

Rorschach: You people don't understand. I'm not locked in here with you, you're locked in here with me!

Rorschach: [Last Line] Rorschach's Journal: October 12th 1985. Tonight, a comedian died in New York.

Recommended movies done by the director
300
Dawn of the dead(Remake)

Friday, March 20, 2009

Movie Review of The Wrestler


The Wrestler - 8/10
Directed by Darren Aronofsky
Cast - Mickey Rourke,Marissa Tomei,Rachel Evan Woods

Plot Summary
A drama centered on retired professional wrestler Randy "The Ram" Robinson as he makes his way through the independent circuit, trying to get back in the game for one final showdown with his former rival.

Review
After watching the trailer(which totally moved me),I was eagerly waiting for the movie.As what the trailer says,witness the resurrection of Mickey Rourke,it is true.A truly amazing,emotional stellar performance from Mickey Rourke.What a comeback...I used to love watching Rourke's older movies.My favourites has always been,Angel heart,9 1/2 weeks,Harley Davidson and The Marlboro Man.Then when he did a shit movie called Double Team with Jean Claude Van Damme and Dennis Rodman,directed by Tsui Hark(FUCK HIM),It was his downfall.But after this movie,I'm happy to say that Mr Rourke is back.From what I read,the main lead was supposed to go to Nicolas Cage but Aronofsky wanted Rourke and Cage being a good friend of Rourke graciously gave it to him.As this is a low budget movie(which I think suits Aronofsky better),Rourke did this movie for free.It was also at this point of time when Mickey Rourke was at his lowest and decided to do the movie as the character he was acting was just like what he became.
Mickey Rourke who also used to be a professional boxer said this was the most hardest movie he has done,both physically and mentally.For 6 months,he trained under an ex Israeli soldier in the gym to build his body up and trained for 4 months under an ex Samoan wrestling trainer.Even though Marissa Tomei and Rachel Evan Woods did a great job in their respective roles(Marissa Tomei looks hot!!!),this movie is clearly Mickey Rourke and no one is gonna steal his thunder.
Direction for this movie was great if not brilliant.Aronofsky ended the movie same way as he ended Requiem for a Dream...sad and depressing.I loved the camera works and the cinematography which really helped capture the emotions from the actors.A lot of track shots were used and handheld cameras also which gives a more gritty,edgy feel to it.Another good thing about this movie is the soundtrack.Alot of 80's glam rock songs were used.and one particular Guns N Roses song was used for the entrance music of Mickey Rourke's character,Randy "The Ram" Robinson.Aronofsky told Rourke he couldn't afford to pay any royalties to the bands for their music,so Rourke(who happens to be a good friend) asks Axl Rose if he could use the song for free and Axl obliged.Rourke said in an interview he used to use this song as the entrance music during his boxing days.The song was Sweet Child O' Mine.And for the theme song which I really hope it will win an Oscar for best Song,Rourke wrote a letter to Bruce Springsteen telling him about the movie he was acting in and all.Bruce Springsteen wrote,played and sang the song,'The Wrestler' for free.
I just love it when a director and his actors have a splendid chemistry and they make a great movie no matter how simple it is.The Wrestler is just like that.

I strongly recommend everyone to watch this movie.But do not watch this movie if it is censored,because it will totally ruin the experience.I really hope the censorship or the distributors release this movie uncut as it is a masterpiece.
Last but not least,Mickey Rourke deserved to win best actor for the Globes and Bafta.

Best Quote
Randy 'The Ram' Robinson: I'm an old broken down piece of meat and I deserve to be all alone, I just don't want you to hate me.

Randy 'The Ram' Robinson: In this life you can lose everything you love, everything that loves you. Alot of people told me that I'd never wrestle again, the only one that's gonna tell me when I'm through doing my thing, is you people here.


Recommended movies by the director
Requiem for a dream
Pi
The Fountain

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Movie Review of Valkyrie

Valkyrie - 6.5/10
Directed by Bryan Singer
Cast - Tom Cruise, Kenneth Branagh,Bill Nighy,Eddie Izzard,Tom Wilkinson

Plot Summary
Based on actual events, a plot to assassinate Hitler is unfurled during the height of WWII.

Review
I have always been a big fan of movies based on World War 2 and especially if it is about the Nazis.Furthermore,Tom Cruise(whom I wouldn't say is my favourite actor but an actor whose movies have a good entertainment value to it) is in it.Bryan Singer is the director.Singer whose only movie I can say was his best was The Usual Suspects.His other mediocre ones were of course X-men and X-men 2.The worst shit he has done is none other than Superman Returns.It is so fucking bad,that if Christopher Reeve was still alive,he would definitely shove a kryptonite so far up Singer's ass,even Lex Luthor would cringe and go..DDDDamn!
Now back to Valkyrie,Let me start with the biggest problem of this movie first.I have said it before and I will say it again.If a movie is based in a country,the best a director should do is make the actors speak in that country's language,or just do the accent.The very least the actors can do is speak the lines in English but with GERMAN accents not BRITISH or AMERICAN accents!!! It just sounds fucking ridiculous and I find it totally unacceptable.Sadly there are some scenes,where the accents be it British or American were so unbearable,you as the viewer will definitely feel irritated.I sure as hell did. I even nearly burst out in laughter when some of the actors did the Nazi salute.
Another movie which would have been better if not for the accents was Enemy At the Gates.Now if only Valkyrie followed what The Reader did.I would definitely enjoyed more and given a higher rating.

Casting for this movie is rather unusual.Cruise as Claus Von Stauffenberg was ok..nothing fantastic.But I just wanted to slap him when he did the Nazi salute and shouted "Heil Hitler!".Even Bill Nighy did not really act well and he has this weird walk which he does in Love Actually too and sometimes it seems like he is gonna break into a song from Wet Wet Wet.Eddie Izzard whom I was surprised to see in a serious role,did a commendable job. And Kenneth Branagh wasn't bad either but I really liked Tom Wilkinson's acting the best(apart from the accent of course).The worst of cos are the actors portraying,Goebbels,Himmler,Goering and Hitler.Hitler looks like Tim Roth as the fucking hunchback of Notre Dame and he has a fucking English accent!What the casting department should have done is get a German actor to portray Hitler at least.
The camera works was not really up to standard and the cinematography was just so so.Editing was pretty average and the direction was plain.The pace of the movie was good.and the suspense despite everyone knowing the outcome was indeed really good.Singer did a good job on this part at least.The script was ok as well.The set designs are really beautiful and the colour treatment is really good.
Worth watching on a weekday..definitely not on a weekend.but my advice is..if you really want to watch a good movie about Hitler's last days,I suggest you watch the movie Der Untergang(Downfall).

The Fuhrer will not be pleased if you watch this movie on a weekend.haha..I just felt like saying that.

Best Quote
Col. Claus von Stauffenberg: [after being informed Hitler is meeting Benito Mussolini for lunch] Will Mussolini be at the briefing? Field Marshal Wilhelm Keitel: We should be so lucky. Then some ambitious young officer might do us a favor and shoot the Dago bastard!

Adolf Hitler: Do you recognize my voice? Major Otto Ernst Remer: Yes, my fuhrer.

Col. Claus von Stauffenberg: Long live sacred Germany!

Recommended movies done by the director
The Usual Suspects
X-Men
Apt Pupil

Movie Review of Slum Dog Millionaire

Slumdog Millionaire - 7/10
Directed by Danny Boyle and Loveleen Tandan(India)
Cast - Dev Patel, Anil Kapoor, Freida Pinto

Plot Summary
The story of the life of an impoverished Indian teen Jamal Malik, who becomes a contestant on the Hindi version of "Who Wants to be A Millionaire?", wins, and is then suspected of cheating.

Review
Danny Boyle is one of my top 10 directors.I will watch any movies he has done or will do.His style of storytelling is really breath taking and sure does keeps you stuck in your seat.My favourite Danny Boyle movies are of course Trainspotting and 28 days later.His worst however,is The Beach(Leo Dicaprio).Slumdog isn't what I would call a fucking awesome movie and I certainly wouldn't go apeshit over it either.Yes it has its moments of brilliance and yet it has some really fuckall shit scenes.I really did enjoyed the story and I do find the plot cute yet interesting.Based on the novel,Q and A by Vikas Swarup,Slumdog Millionaire is entertaining,heart warming and has a feel good factor.Yea sure the Indians aren't happy about this movie cause of the apparent derogatory title and Amitabh Bachan hates this movie and all the fucking indians are asking everyone to boycott Slumdog Millionaire.ITS A FUCKING MOVIE FOR FUCK'S SAKE!!! I think the Indians are anal about this because there is no goddamn fucking song and dance and the actors arent jumping around trees like monkies! They even hated the movie about Gandhi just because Ben Kingsley was the lead,despite it being a fantastic film.I say just watch the fucking movie and judge it for yourself.
Casting wise,I would say was ok..despite most of the actors are not popular or anything.The chemistry between Dev Patel's character and Freida Pinto's character pretty much fizzles out whenever they are onscreen.Probably the worst acting award will definitely go to the older Salim character acted by Madhur Mittal.And you also have the never seems to be aging Anil Kapoor as the host.He even manages to say "Fuck" also.which I found it pretty amusing.All the child actors are doing this for the first time and to be honest they did a good job.Apparently,Danny Boyle and the studios set up a trust fund for the kids and all that.
Direction for this movie is good,I wouldn't say its fucking excellent and all,its not one of Boyle's best but its still a good job nevertheless.The colouring for this movie isn't as great as his previous movie,Millions.The pacing for Slumdog is good also.I do like the cinematography and the script as well.

All in all,despite all the awards Slumdog has been winning,I didn't really feel for it.but I would still think its worth watching with yr loved ones during the weekend.Its a feel good movie after all.
Enjoy.

Best Quote
Jamal Malik: If it wasn't for Ram or Allah, we'd still have a mother.

Police Inspector: Doctors... Lawyers... never get past 60 thousand rupees. He's won 10 million. [pause] Police Inspector: What can a slumdog possibly know? Jamal Malik: [quietly] The answers.

Recommended movies by the director
28 days later
Trainspotting
Millions
Shallow Grave

Monday, February 2, 2009

Movie Review of The Reader

The Reader - 8/10
Directed by Stephen Daldry
Cast - Kate Winslet, David Kross,Ralph Fiennes

Plot Summary
Post-WWII Germany: Nearly a decade after his affair with an older woman came to a mysterious end, law student Michael Burk re-encounters his former lover as she defends herself in a war-crime trial.

Review
What a fantastic movie this is..Beautiful storytelling with really good,convincing acting.Kate Winslet is really good in this.Years ago if someone told me that Kate Winslet the fat cow from the shit movie Titanic,would be a fantastic actress,I wouldn't have believed it.And here she is.She has done quite a lot of good indie flicks since Titanic and I have nothing but awe and respect for her.She does indeed remind me of a young Meryl Streep.
The casting for this movie is good even when you have Winslet's acting overpowering the movie,the other actors,David Kross and Ralph Fiennes managed to hold out on their own.David Kross is a young German actor who had to learn English for this movie.As the story is based in Germany,all the actors are speaking English with German accents unlike the movie,Enemy at the Gates where you have British actors acting as Russians with British accents and American actors acting as Germans in American accents.Filming had to be halted for David Kross to turn 18 so that the love scenes can be shot.Ralph Fiennes who is really good in taking on depressed,tortured kind of roles does a good job in this as well.
Direction for this movie is really good.there is good flow despite the different time lines occurred.Daldry does a remarkable job in bring out an actor's prowess just like he did with his previous movie,The Hours.Luckily,The Reader is rated R21 so there was no shitty cuts.So its safe to say the editing department did a good job.I also like the camera works done for this film,as it manages to capture the emotions from the actors very well.

A definite worth to watch on a weekend.

Its gonna be a tough fight for the Best Actress Oscar between Kate Winslet(The Reader) and Meryl Streep(Doubt).I was initially rooting for Meryl Streep to win it but after watching Kate Winslet,I really hope she wins it.Go Kate!

Best Quotes
Hanna Schmitz: It doesn't matter what I think. It doesn't matter what I feel. The dead are still dead.

Young Ilana Mather: [Testifying in court] Each of the guards would choose a certain number of women. Hanna Schmitz chose differently.
Judge: In what way differently?
Young Ilana Mather: She had favourites. Girls, mostly young. We all remarked on it, she gave them food and places to sleep. In the evening, she asked them to join her. We all thought - well, you can imagine what we thought. Then we found out - she was making these women read aloud to her. They were reading to her. At first we thought this guard... this guard is more sensitive... she's more human... she's kinder. Often she chose the weak, the sick, she picked them out, she seemed to be protecting them almost. But then she dispatched them. Is that kinder?

Recommended movies by the director
The Hours
Billy Elliot

Movie Review of Doubt


Doubt - 6.5/10

Directed by John Patrick Shanley
Cast - Phillip Seymour Hoffman,Meryl Streep,Amy Adams,Viola Davis

Plot Summary
Set in 1964, Doubt centers on a nun who confronts a priest after suspecting him abusing a black student. He denies the charges, and much of the play's quick-fire dialogue tackles themes of religion, morality and authority.

Review
When I first watched Doubt's Trailer,I was very excited.I couldn't wait to watch 2 acting powerhouses going at each other.With Phillip Seymour Hoffman in one corner and Meryl Streep in the other.After watching the movie,to be honest I was alittle disappointed.Well it was the ending that kinda turned me off.I just felt shortchanged when Meryl Streep's character did a short outburst in the end.Instead of that,Streep's character should have remained in character as before.Besides that,I think Meryl Streep will win the Best Actress award(Oscars) for her role as a strict,no nonsense,terrifying Principal of a Catholic School,Sister Aloysius Beauvier.Streep was so convincing that you will definitely get reminiscances of yourself getting beatings from the discipline master when you were in school.(I did)
Phillip Seymour Hoffman was just fantastic as Father Brendan Flynn.He acted so well,he will get you convinced and make you feel for his character.Though I do not think he will win Best Actor for this year,I will certainly watch any movies,he acts in.
Amy Adams does a good job as Sister James who is innocently caught in a war between Father Flynn and Sister Beauvier.
Viola Davis who acts as Mrs Miller was exceptionally good..for 5 mins.Cause that's all her role was in the movie for.But for that 5 mins,she did a damn good job.
There is nothing fancy so its pretty much simple cinematography and editing.I didn't like the camera works,there are some shots which were rather shaky and there were some shots poorly done as it couldn't capture the emotions from the actors.The plot and script were fucking fantastic,especially the scenes of Hoffman and Streep.
As this movie is based on a play,you will get the feel that you are watching a play instead of a movie.An interesting thing about Doubt is the director,John Patrick Shanley only told Phillip Seymour Hoffman whether he was guilty or not.None of the other actors knew.
Worth watching on a weekend.

Best Quote
Father Brendan Flynn: You have no right to act on your own! You have taken vows, obedience being one! You answer to us! You have no right to step outside the church!
Sister Aloysius Beauvier: I will step outside the church if that's what needs to be done, till the door should shut behind me! I will do what needs to be done, though I'm damned to Hell! You should understand that, or you will mistake me.
Father Brendan Flynn: I can fight you.
Sister Aloysius Beauvier: You will lose.

Recommended movies by the director
Joe vs the volcano

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Movie Review of Milk


Milk - 7/10
Directed by Gus Van Sant
Cast - Sean Penn,James Franco,Diego Luna,Josh Brolin

Plot Summary
The story of California's first openly gay elected official, Harvey Milk, a San Francisco supervisor who was assassinated along with Mayor George Moscone by San Francisco Supervisor Dan White.

Review
Ever since I am Sam,I never liked Sean Penn.He over exaggerated his acting as a retard(Robert Downey Jr in Tropic Thunder was right!) and the guy is just too serious.He was good in Mystic Rivers and he is a fuckall director(FUCK! Into The Wild).So when I was checking out this movie called Milk and found out that Sean Penn was the lead in the movie,I decided to give it a miss even without finding out who the director was.one day when a couple of friends of mine told me to check out the movie Milk because to them it was fantastic.For a moment,I thought they were Sean Penn fans or something.But when they told me Milk is directed by Gus Van Sant and that is when i knew it will be a mistake if i still gave this movie a miss.Gus Van Sant is just one of those directors,you just have to watch.There are great ones like Goodwill Hunting and Elephant and there were shit like Last days and To die for.Still...for his unique style of direction,you have to watch his films.
So I went to watch Milk on a weekend without doing any research about the character or the story,and hoping this would be a good one from Gus Van Sant while still hating Sean Penn.I was pleasantly surprised that this movie wasn't a total fuck up,it had a lot of great moments and a few fucked up ones.
I'll start with the fucked up ones first.The most obvious being is the colouring for this movie.the treatment was not done nicely.There are some shots which are supposed to be in the 70's timeline hence the colouring has to be little faded but unfortunately I found it to be way too grainy therefore from one scene to the next despite the timeline,there is no smooth continuity.
Editing also wasn't done properly but i figured that's because there are different types of shots and cinematography used.
Here are the positive points from Milk.Gus Van Sant's direction was fantastic.The unique thing he did was putting together actual archive footages into this film.The camera works were good,you can see lots of great angles of the actors doing their thing.
Script was great.There are loads of funny and inspirational quotes.Acting is just simply brilliant.Despite how much I hate Sean Penn,he did a very good job as the main lead,Harvey Milk.He even managed to look like him,getting prosthetic nose and teeth,contact lens.He even redesigned his hairline to make him look like the real Harvey Milk(make up done by Stephan Dupuis).The supporting cast also did a great job.James Franco as Harvey Milk's lover and close friend has very good chemistry with Sean Penn.They really do look like they are in love and all.Diego Luna who is a very underrated actor(He was great in Y Tu Mama Tambien) acted as Milk's possessive lover was also good.

All in all,I recommend everyone to watch Milk,even though if you are a homophobic heterosexual,watch it for the fantastic acting.



Best Quote
Harvey Milk: My name is Harvey Milk and I'm here to recruit you!
State Senator John Briggs: It's time to root them out. Tom Ammiano: And how are you going to determine who's a homosexual? State Senator John Briggs: My bill outlines procedures for identifying homosexuals. Tom Ammiano: How? Will you be sucking them off?

Harvey Milk: If it were true that children emulate their teachers, we'd have a lot more nuns running around.

Recommended movies by the directorGoodwill Hunting
Elephant
My own Private Idaho

Movie Review of Ghost Town


Ghost Town - 4.5/10
Directed by David Koepp
Cast - Ricky Gervais,Greg Kinnear,Tea Leoni

Plot Summary
Bertram Pincus, is a man whose people skills leave much to be desired. When Pincus dies unexpectedly, but is miraculously revived after seven minutes, he wakes up to discover that he now has the annoying ability to see ghosts.

Review
After watching the trailer and reading the synopsis,I thought to myself this could very much be a remake of Ghost minus the romance and all that shit.Sadly after watching this movie,even Ghost was funnier.
Ricky Gervais was extremely funny in his own series,The Office and Extras.His choice of movie roles however,are just plain bad.
Half the time,all you could hear him is mumbling.He shouldn't be doing a main role,I feel Gervais is much better in supporting roles.Greg Kinnear on the other hand wasn't so bad.Tea Leoni seemed alittle confused at times.
Script for this movie was good.There were quite abit of funny lines but just the deliverance wasn't there.Editing for this movie was pretty ok.Cinematography could have been alittle better and the camera works were simply ok.There were a few loopholes in the plot.And the story telling wasn't really smoothly told.Good beginning,draggy middle and a really rushed end.

Dont bother...wait for the DVD even if you are a fan of Ricky Gervais.

Best Quotes
Hospital Nurse: [after Bertram's colonoscopy] Come back soon. Bertram Pincus: What a terrible thing to say in a hospital.

Bertram Pincus: All work and no play makes Jack- a vital member of society.

Recommended movies by the director
Secret Window (Johnny Depp)
Stir of Echoes (Kevin Bacon)

Movie Review of The Punisher Warzone


Punisher Warzone - 5/10
Directed by Lexi Alexander
Cast - Ray Stevenson, Dominic West,Doug Hutchinson,Julie Benz

Plot Summary
After hunting down and killing hundreds of violent criminals, Frank Castle, aka The Punisher, faces his most deadly foe yet: Jigsaw.

Review
The Punisher has and will always be my favourite comic character.I have been reading his comics for a long time now.So far there has been 2 different Punisher movies.The first was Dolph Lundgren.The first movie was good,Lundgren did a good Frank Castle(Punisher) but halfway through, the movie lost the plot and it became stupid.The 2nd movie was Thomas Jane as Frank Castle and Travolta as the bad guy.This was a fucking stupid movie from the get go.I forced myself to finish the movie sadly.I knew it when you have an actor with a girly name like Thomas JANE to act as The Punisher,you are just asking for it.It was at this point of time i thought to myself that Marvel Studios will probably never make a proper Punisher movie.So when I started hearing news about making another Punisher movie,I was of course excited.After reading the synopsis and watching the trailer,I was convinced that Ray Stevenson(Titus from the TV series Rome) would make a more convincing Frank Castle.And to be honest,he does it pretty well.Frank in the comics has always been a no remorse,kill everyone don't bother asking questions kinda guy and Stevenson does it pretty well for the movie.
Dominic West(Mcnulty from the TV series The Wire) on the other hand did a rather lame version of the Jigsaw.The transition from Billy Russoti to Jigsaw was too rushed and not believable.Julie Benz(Rita from the TV series Dexter) was god awful.
Don't really bother about cinematography and camera works because it's pretty much done as a B grade movie.Lexi Alexander kinda lost the plot when she was directing this movie.Everything seemed rushed.Editing was shit too.now the only good thing about this movie are the kill scenes.you have a lot of bodies,blood and bullets all over the fuck place and a few fantastic kill scenes which would make u go"what the fuck?!!!" and then you will laugh about it...(I did).
Apart from that,I wish that Marvel Studios would make yet another Punisher movie but perhaps with better villains and a better director of course and just keep the violence.ha ha.

Watch this movie only if you are a fan of the Punisher if not just watch it on a weekday.

Best Quotes
Frank Castle: Sometimes I would like to get my hands on God.

Billy Russoti: Billy's dead. Call Me Jigsaw. [Followed by an awkward silence]

Billy Russoti: [talking to Grace] Would you like to pray to an imaginary friend too?


Recommended movies by the director
Green Street Hooligans

Movie Review of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button - 7/10
Directed by David Fincher
Cast - Brad Pitt,Cate Blanchett,Julia Ormond

Plot Summary
Tells the story of Benjamin Button, a man who starts aging backwards with bizarre consequences.

Review
There were numerous directors and actors attached to this movie since 1994 till it was finally decided that David Fincher and Brad Pitt did this movie.David Fincher has always been one of my favourite directors,I will watch no matter who is acting in or what is the story about.As you can see there is a long list of recommended movies from him.
Now after reading the synopsis of this movie,I found the story rather strange and unusual and immediately thought that Tim Burton will be directing this movie.So when I found out that it was David Fincher who is directing this,I was sketical.Because for strange,quirky stories like Benjamin Button,you definitely need a strange,quirky director like Tim Burton.Now don't get me wrong,Fincher did a good job on Benjamin Button but he doesn't have the touch for movies like this unlike Tim Burton.
Fincher's direction as usual was top notch.The editing too was good.Cinematography was decent as well.Camera works were normal.Make up on the other hand wasn't consistent.Sometimes the make up would looks great on the actors and sometimes just plain and fake also.Apparently there was some CGI done also.
Acting was pretty good especially the supporting cast.I have always enjoyed watching Brad Pitt's movies and I will continue to do so.Cate Blanchett are one of those actresses who just reminds me of Meryl Streep.Strong willed and can really act according to character.Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett have very good chemistry together.They were fantastic in Babel but unfortunately for this movie,there were few scenes,they appeared rather distant.
But overall,it is a good movie to watch..heartwarming and touching.There are a few Forest Gump like moments as well.

A feel good movie to watch.Worth watching on a weekend.


Best Quote
Benjamin Button: My name is Benjamin Button, and I was born under unusual circumstances. While everyone else was agin', I was gettin' younger... all alone.

Daisy: Would you still love me if I were old and saggy? Benjamin Button: Would you still love ME if I were young and had acne? Or if I end up wetting the bed?

Recommended movies by the director
Aliens3
Fight Club
Se7en
Zodiac
Panic Room

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Movie Review of Frost/Nixon

Frost/Nixon - JZ: 8/10 Subash: TBC
Directed by Ron Howard
Cast - Frank Langella, Michael Sheen

Plot Summary
Electrifying all in one -inclusive interview battle between Richard Nixon, the disgraced president with a legacy to save, and David Frost a jet-setting television personality with a name to make. Confronting questions of Nixon's time in office and the Watergate scandal that ended his presidency.

Review
This film is based on a historic event and taken from a play by the British sscreenwriter and dramatist Peter Morgon. It's subject is the series of televised Frost/Nixon interviews that former US President Richard Nixon granted David Frost in 1977. I would say this interview is like to 2 chess players, 1 trying to drive the opponent completely into a corner to submission while the other trying to trap the opponent into a checkmate.

The direction of the film is slighty above average in my opinion. Managed to give a brief introductory description of what happen to President Nixon and how the story slowly developed from Frost and then to Nixon. The main portion and focus on the show is the interview. The camera work is average I guess.

It seems that Nixon's role is the main focus point and hence the acting opportunity for the rest of the cast is minimal. Frank and Michael are the 2 main people to pay attention to as they managed to get into their characters and played them out really well.

Frank Langella reprising his role as Nixon from a play which Peter Morgon produced. Frank did a excellent job from his mannerisms to his expressions. Frank has won awards for his performance as Nixon in Morgon's play and is currenlty nominated for the 66th Golden Globe awards for his performance in this film.

Michael Sheen who is also reprising his role from the play also has also won a award in it. He did a good job in this film
.

Worth to watch this on a weekend.

Best Quotes
David Frost:Are you really saying the President can do something illegal?
Richard Nixon:I'm saying that when the President does it, that means it's *not* illegal!
David Frost: ...I'm sorry?

Recommend movies by director
A beautiful Mind
Apollo 13
cocoon
Far and Away
Backdraft
Cinderalla man





Friday, January 2, 2009

Movie Review of Australia

Australia - 7/10
Directed by Baz Luhrmann
Cast - Nicole Kidman,Hugh Jackman,David Wenham,Brandon Walters

Plot Summary
Set in northern Australia before World War II, an English aristocrat who inherits a sprawling ranch reluctantly pacts with a stock-man in order to protect her new property from a takeover plot. As the pair drive 2,000 head of cattle over unforgiving landscape, they experience the bombing of Darwin, Australia, by Japanese forces firsthand.

Review
I have not exactly been a fan of Baz Luhrmann's works.I guess its because I am not a fan of musicals and Moulin Rouge! irritated the shit out of me.It also took me a long while to catch Romeo + Juliet because back then,Leo Dicaprio was still a cunt.So when Australia came out,I wasn't really excited about it cause I thought it's gonna be a musical.But after reading a few articles about the movie,I became curious.
With a budget of about 150 million bucks,Baz did the movie,the old fashioned way.Old school,film noir,epic,romance(think of Casablanca).The movie took about 9 months to finish and still had some reshoots in mid 2008.About 1500 wild horses were used for this movie as well.
Initially the late Heath Ledger was supposed to be the male lead in this movie but he backed out to do the Dark Knight(which was a good choice).Russell Crowe took over and he wanted more money out of this,so the studios told him to fuck off and they got Hugh Jackman instead.Now Hugh Jackman has never been a favourite actor of mine in fact the fella cant act for nuts.The only movie I was impressed by his acting was Christopher Nolan's The Prestige.Surprisingly,he was pretty ok in this one.Nicole Kidman on the other hand I felt over exaggerated her acting but then again over exaggerated acting could be required for doing a film like this.It was also a pleasant surprise to see Bryan Brown(of Cocktail fame) who did a decent job as King Carney.The scene stealer is of course the aboriginal kid,Brandon Walters.The boy has the most soulful eyes ever.He was a natural in acting,and it doesn't seem like this is his first time acting.Now I do not know much about the Aboriginal culture but they have a wonderful way of talking in english.And Brandon Walters does it beautifully.He was a very lovable character and the story revolves around him.The worst actor was David Wenham(Faramir of Lord of the Rings),despite him being an Australian,he has a horrible accent and sometimes becomes confused in his character.
Cinematography was beautiful.There are lots of scenes where the scenery is breathtakingly beautiful.Camera works was excellent as well,lots of crane shots in it.You can see clearly a lot of money was invested for this.Direction was pretty good.Costume and make up were not so good.There is one scene where u can clearly see the girl who is not Aborigine but has very bad make up on her to make the audience think she is.Silly mistakes like that for a high budget movie is unacceptable.CGI was downright horrible.After making right with so many things,the least you could do was have some decent CGI.Editing could have done abit more as the movie was just too damn long! Almost 3 fucking hours! There are quite a few unnecessary scenes which could have been edited out.

Despite that,I would still recommend the movie for a good bit of escapism and of course Brandon Walters.Worth watching on a weekend.

Best Quotes
Drover: Welcome to Australia!
Nullah: Mrs. Boss! We gotta get those fat cheeky bulls into that big bloody metal ship!

Recommended movies by the director
Romeo + Juliet
Moulin Rouge!