Friday, December 24, 2010

Movie review of Facing Ali

Facing Ali - 7/10
Directed by Pete McCormack
Cast - Joe Frazier,George Foreman,Leon Spinks,Sir Henry Cooper,George Chuvalo

Plot Summary
The life and career of Muhammad Ali (1942- ) as seen chronologically in archival footage: Ali as a fighter, a personality, a political lightening rod, and a man. Boxers who fought him describe what led up to major fights and the matches themselves; they also offer personal revelations about their own lives and how fighting him changed their lives.

Review
A very interesting documentary about the guys who fought with arguably the greatest boxer of the world,Mohd Ali.I loved the cinematography and there were some really fantastic shots which really expressed the emotions portrayed by the boxers.You can actually feel the emotion that boxers like George Chuvalo,Joe Frazier,Ken Norton and Ernie Terrell portrayed during their interviews.Kudos to the director and the director of photography for they did a great job for Facing Ali.This wasn't scripted but there were lots of classic lines said by the boxers.One of my favourites was Joe Frazier.The only thing that was missing were interviews by the man himself.But the boxers did a fantastic job telling about Ali.And there are some good archival footages about Ali as well.

Sadly Facing Ali is only shown in Cathay Picturehouse.I would recommend you to watch this documentary if you are a fan of boxing or Mohd Ali or if you wanna know more about Ali as well.

Recommended movies done by the director
None

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Movie review of Tron Legacy


Tron Legacy - 7.5/10
Directed by Joseph Kosinski
Cast - Jeff Bridges,Garett Hedlund,Olivia Wilde,Bruce Boxleitner,Micheal Sheen

Plot Summary
Sam Flynn, the tech-savvy 27-year-old son of Kevin Flynn, looks into his father's disappearance and finds himself pulled into the same world of fierce programs and gladiatorial games where his father has been living for 20 years. Along with Kevin's loyal confidant, father and son embark on a life-and-death journey across a visually-stunning cyber universe that has become far more advanced and exceedingly dangerous.

Review
Wow! Definitely one of the best movies for the later part of 2010.What a ride...The effects for Tron Legacy is just brilliant and fantastic.Don't even bother watching it in 3D,normal version is just fine enough.The pacing for the movie is pretty good in fact its pacing is as close as the prequel Tron(1982).There were a few references to the first Tron which were damn cool.Like the "big door" scene,the Journey song and certain classic Tron lines.
When I first watched Tron,it was the effects and of course the lightcycles that fascinated me.I did watch the prequel just recently again so I can have a recap.The story in the prequel was shit.but this time round,the story is so much better.Director did a fine job despite this being his first major movie.I loved the coloring of the film,very outstanding and a good contrast.Costumes for this movie are spectacular,my favorite were Kevin Flynn's illuminated "jedi" robe and Tron's suit.
I have to say this,Tron Legacy would not have been good if not for the soundtrack.Daft Punk was the fucking bomb! I simply love what Daft Punk did.The music created the mood for alot of scenes.You can see a cameo of them(masked DJs) in a scene as well.Fucking brilliant.
Acting was pretty ok.Garett Hedlund as Sam Flynn did a good job and so did Olivia Wilde even though she does look alittle weird and all..but it suits the movie well.The veteran Jeff Bridges was as cool as ever.Sometime he even made me feel like The Dude(Big Lebowski) was in the grid.haha.
I just love anything Micheal Sheen does and even in a small yet pivotal role,he will just make you remember his character,Castor.
And the character,Tron was just too fucking cool.He only has 2 fucking cool lines and never shows his face.I do not know but I'm hoping the actor is the same guy who was the headless horseman and Darth Maul.

Totally recommend this movie to be watched on a weekend.Even better,watch the prequel first then watch Tron Legacy.

Quotes
Kevin Flynn: The Grid. A digital frontier. I tried to picture clusters of information as they traveled through the computer. Ships, motorcycles. With the circuits like freeways. I kept dreaming of a world I thought I'd never see. And then, one day... i got in.

Castor
: Change the scheme! Alter the mood! Electrify the boys and girls if you'd be so kind.

Recommended movies done by the director
none

Movie review of The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader


The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader - 3/10
Directed by Michael Apted
Cast - Ben Barnes,Georgie Henley,Skandar Keynes,Will Poulter

Plot Summary
Lucy and Edmund Pevensie return to Narnia with their cousin Eustace where they meet up with Prince Caspian for a trip across the sea aboard the royal ship The Dawn Treader. Along the way they encounter dragons, dwarves, merfolk, and a band of lost warriors before reaching the edge of the world.

Review
I have always enjoyed watching fantasy movies and thinking the first Narnia movie was fantasy,I went to watch it.I did not realize much later that the entire Narnia series is actually Christian propaganda.Pretty much for disillusioned kids (and most adults).but still with an open mind,I watched the second and finally the third.There will probably be a fourth soon,but this time I'm gonna give it a pass.
Ni Narnia!!!
Acting for this movie is utter rubbish especially Georgie Henley who plays Lucy.Probably one of the upcoming WORST British actresses ever.I sincerely hope for the sake of the British Film Industry,that she never acts again..not even in porn.The "anger so called Darkside" look she gives about 5000 times in the movie was definitely enough for me.And then there was Will Poulter who plays a character called Eustance Scrubb.Now halfway through the movie,I did not know what the fucker's name was right until the credits came up because everyone in the movie kept shouting,"USELESS! USELESS!".and he looks more like a rat than Reepicheep the Rat who used to be voiced over by Edie Izzard but now Simon Pegg.
Special effects for the movie was pretty ok.And so was the editing.I did like some of the scene shots and the colouring for certain scenes though.But that's about it for this movie sadly.
And the whole end scene of Narnia, when Aslan comes(read the quotes)...sigh...
and the Christians wonder why everyone finds them annoying.
Feed them to the fucking lions!!! Hahahaha.

Other than that,I would only recommend you to watch this movie,if you are a fan of the Narnia series..or a christian.

Quotes
Lucy Pevensie: Aslan, will we ever meet with you in our world?
Aslan: You shall.
Lucy Pevensie: How?
Aslan: Because there I have another name. You must learn to know me by that name. This was the very reason why you were brought to Narnia, that knowing me here for a little, you may know me better there.

Recommended movies done by the director
Gorillas in the mist
Nell
The world is not enough

Friday, December 17, 2010

Movie review of Faster


Faster - 5/10
Directed by George Tillman Jr
Cast - Dwayne Johnson,Billy Bob Thornton,Maggie Grace

Plot Summary
An ex-con sets out to avenge his brother's death after they were double-crossed during a heist years ago. During his campaign, however, he's tracked by a veteran cop and an egocentric hit man.

Review
I've always enjoyed watching The Rock but now he prefers to be called by his real name which is Dwayne Johnson.Funny guy,good looking and probably is one of the few action movie stars left.The pacing for Faster is pretty fast.The action starts from the get go.The fight sequences are pretty good and quite violent.Direction was pretty standard.The editing will get confusing at first but you will get the gist of the movie about 15mins through.
Unfortunately I cant say much for the script.Some of the liners for this movie are bad.Dwayne doesn't say much either.I thought that was not good as his comedic timing is pretty good and they should have utilized it.
Surprisingly the casting for this movie was pretty good but most of them were pretty much like cameos.Tom Berenger and Karen Carpenter for an example.The egocentric hitman and his wife,in my opinion are a waste of time and they are in there just as fillers.Totally fucking stupid and redundant.
but among the main cast,the most disappointing actor was Billy Bob Thornton.Sadly Billy Bob is pretty much like his character in this movie.A washed up has been who is a sight for sore eyes for everyone.His acting was lazy and you can pretty much feel he doesn't want to act in this movie and he has to but because he is broke or obligated to do so or some shit like that.
Everything was going well for Faster,I was enjoying the movie...right till the end.The end was what pissed me off.I'm not gonna tell you why cos it is a spoiler and if you do indeed watch...you are definitely gonna go "what the fuck" first at the first twist.Then you will definitely shout a vulgarity right after the final twist.Mine was Cheebye Lah!

Watch Faster only if you are a Rock fan or if you really have nothing to do but watch this on a weekday.

Recommended movies done by the director
Men of Honour

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Movie Review of Shrek Forever After


Shrek Forever After - 5/10
Directed by Mike Mitchell
Cast - Mike Myers,Eddie Murphy,Antonio Banderas,Cameron Diaz

Plot Summary
The further adventures of the giant green ogre, Shrek, living in the land of Far, Far Away.

Review
I am sincerely hoping that this so called final installment of the Shrek series is really final and no one should ever do another Shrek movie ever again.It is just getting more boring by each sequel.The first one was great.2nd one was maybe commendable.The 3rd one was pretty much shit.luckily the 4th one has its moments.I had to watch this in 3D some more.
The storyline was confusing and sadly you can kinda hear from the actor's voices that they are sick and tired of doing this especially Mike Myers himself.The script was quite boring to be honest,cause its the same tried formula they were using for all 3 other Shrek movies.Editing was not so good for this as pretty much the story just consists of numerous skits and sketches.Yea sure there were some scenes which was pretty funny but you will be back to being bored immediately after the scene ends. I was concentrating on eating my sandwich more than the movie.That should show how bored I was.
The whole 3D thing was a waste of money.I should have just watched Shrek in a normal screen than in 3D.

Don't bother watching this on a weekday and Don't waste your money on the 3D either.
Fuck That.

Recommended movies done by the director
None

Movie Review of Kick Ass


Kick Ass - 7.5/10
Directed by Mathew Vaughn
Cast - Nicholas Cage,Aaron Johnson,Christopher Mintz-Plasse,Chloe Moretz,

Plot Summary
Dave Lizewski is an unnoticed high school student and comic book fan who one day decides to become a super-hero, even though he has no powers, training or meaningful reason to do so.

Review
I was pleasantly surprised about Kick Ass.I'm a big fan of Mark Millar's comics.When I first read Kick Ass,I thoroughly enjoyed myself and Though out loud that this would make a good movie.And when I found out that Mark Millar himself was one of the producers,I thought hey maybe this could be good afterall.And true enough,it was great.
The acting cast for this movie was pretty good.I enjoyed Nic Cage's acting as Big Daddy.He got the whole tribute to Adam West's Batman thing going and it really suited the character.Hit Girl was definitely the scene stealer.Chloe Moretz is cute and the best part is she can act.Looking forward to see what she does next.I was alittle disappointed with Christopher Mintz-Plasse aka "Mclovin"(Super bad).The dude cant act as a bad guy and that last scene was just terrible.Aaron Johnson is pretty ok as Kick Ass.But I would like to see what he would do next.
Direction was commendable.Script and story was fantastic.Pretty decent Special effects and all.I liked the editing as well.

Good movie to watch overall.But I suggest you should read the comic first before you watch this.

Quotes
Dave Lizewski: I realised I was going to die. I was never going to learn how to drive; or know what Katie and my kids would look like; or figure out how "Lost" ends.
Huge Goon: Fuck this shit, I'm getting the bazooka!
Dave Lizewski: How do I get a hold of you?
Hit Girl: [sarcastically] You just contact the mayor's office. He has a special signal he shines in the sky; it's in the shape of a giant cock.

Recommended movies done by the director
Stardust
Layer cake

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Movie Review of Ip Man 2


Ip Man 2 - 7/10
Directed by Wilson Yip
Cast - Donnie Yen,Sammo Hung,Simon Yam,

Plot Summary
Centering on Ip Man's migration to Hong Kong in 1949 as he attempts to propagate his discipline of Wing Chun martial arts.

Review
I have to admit I thoroughly enjoyed watching the first Ip Man movie.Donnie Yen did a fantastic portrayal of Ip Man. and when I learnt that there was a sequel,I couldn't wait to watch it.Directed by the same guy who did the first one.WIlson Yip did not disappoint in directing the sequel as well.In addition,another legendary kungfu actor Sammo Hung join in the cast.He is also the action director.Now for a fat guy,Sammo Hung can move! and he pretty much stole the scene whenever he was onscreen.He also stole Donnie Yen's thunder when they had scenes together.Even though the acting was not so spectacular,but these kinda movies,it's the action sequences and the fight scenes which are important instead.
2 characters which I think were redundant and shouldnt even be in the sequel were Simon Yam's and that north Chinese guy who got his ass beat by Ip man with a feather duster in the first movie.
Editing and cinematography were pretty ok as well.The fight choreography and action sequences on the other hand was simply amazing.I really got to give it to Sammo Hung for his direction in the action sequences.they were beautifully done.

All in all it is a fun movie to watch and its pretty worth it to watch on a weekend.And yea there is a special treat for Bruce Lee fans.

Recommended movies done by the director
Ip Man
Flash Point

Movie Review of Iron man 2


Ironman 2 - 6.5/10
Directed by Jon Favreau
Cast - Robert Downey Jr,Don Cheadle,Scarlet Johannson,Mickey Rourke,Gwyneth Palthrow,Sam Rockwell

Plot Summary
Billionaire Tony Stark must contend with deadly issues involving the government, his own friends, as well as new enemies due to his superhero alter ego Iron Man.

Review
I like Jon Favreau as an actor.He has made quite a few supporting scenes really funny and all.I watched Made which was directed by him and found it pretty good.Zathura and Elf were shit though.Now I am not a big iron man fan.Did not enjoyed the cartoons and certainly did not enjoyed the comics as well.Nevertheless,I still went to watch the first Iron man movie and was surprisingly entertained.So I decided to watch the sequel yesterday.I kinda somehow felt it wouldn't be as good as the first one cause usually sequels don't do too well.Sadly it was true,but still any comic fan or Iron man fan should still go watch it.Now with an even bigger budget,the director pretty much went for the jugular at the effects department.The chase sequence was alittle jerky but nicely done.Direction was pretty ok for iron man 2.Storyline however i did have alittle problem with it.You have a great start and a great end but why was the middle so fucking boring? The pace in the middle nearly did put me to sleep,I was actually getting bored and wondering when will the movie end.
Casting was ok.but I didn't understand why have a solid cast but underutilize them? actors like Sam Rockwell,Scarlet Johannson were pretty much like extras.There was also the ever irritating Sam Jackson who just cant stop saying shitty one liners.well he has signed up for 9 Marvel movies so we can expect more shit lines from him.Mickey Rourke as usual is cool as ever.He pretty much is the scene stealer whenever he is onscreen and of course he has all the coolest lines.
Don Cheadle who replaced Terence Howard was good as well.I loved the way he said his first line."I'm here,Deal with it."Gywneth was ever pleasant as she was in the first one.

All in all,I would still say it's an enjoyable ride whether you are an Iron man fan or not.Worth watching on a weekend and also wait for the scene after the end credits.

Quotes
Ivan Vanko: If you could make God bleed, people will cease to believe in Him. There will be blood in the water, and the sharks will come.
[looks at Stark]
Ivan Vanko: All I have to do is sit here and watch, as the world will consume you...

Recommended movies done by the director
Iron man
Made

Movie Review of Date Night


Date Night - 7/10
Directed by Shawn Levy
Cast - Steve Carrell,Tina Fey,Mark Wahlberg

Plot Summary
In New York City, a case of mistaken identity turns a bored married couple's attempt at a glamorous and romantic evening into something more thrilling and dangerous.

Review
I had really low expectations for this movie.I seriously did not think that Steve Carrell and Tina Fey would have a good chemistry and probably most of their jokes would have fallen flat.But boy was I wrong.The movie was funny from the get go.Carrell and Fey have fantastic chemistry and their comedic timing is near perfect.I got to also admit all of Mark Wahlberg's scenes were fucking funny! you just can't stop laughing!
The script for Date Night is fantastic.it's simple,witty and of course funny as hell.Direction was also good.The acting was fantastic especially the 2 main actors.Storyline was pretty standard Hollywood material but the end product and delivery was good.
Totally recommend everyone to watch this movie.If it isn't in the cinemas anymore,Just get the DVD.It'll be worth it!

Quotes
Phil Foster: He turned the gun sideways! That's a kill shot!

Phil Foster: ...And will you, for the love of God, put on a fucking shirt?

Recommended movies done by the director
Night at the mueseum
Just Married

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Move Review of From Paris With Love


From Paris with love - 4/10
Directed by Pierre Morel
Cast - John Travolta,Jonathan Rhys Meyers

Summary
In Paris, a young employee in the office of the US Ambassador hooks up with an American spy looking to stop a terrorist attack in the city.

Review
When I first watched Pierre Morel's first movie District 13,I was completely blown away.From the fight choreography to the stunts,everything was fantastic.Even though the storyline was rather shit and B-grade,I didn't really gave a fuck about it.Then I watched Taken which had Liam Neeson acting as an ex assassin or some shit like that.It was pretty watchable.The writing of Luc Besson and the directing of Pierre Morel was a good combo.And like District 13,Taken had good fight choreography and stunts and a shitty storyline as well.Now From Paris with love,we have the same formula but sadly this time the fight scenes and stunts were a tad bit mediocre and the plot is pretty much killing bad guys while spewing out strings of vulgarities.This is strictly a guy movie.No women will enjoy this.Its mindless entertainment.
With the storyline thrown out of the window,you can throw out the acting as well.Travolta does what he does best...being fat and vulgar while acting tough and violent.And that bald,goatee with a silver ear stud look makes him look like a white Samuel L.Jackson.But still he was entertaining.There's a line in the movie where he will use a pretty famous line from Pulp Fiction(it involves a burger).I giggled and groaned at the same time upon hearing that.His partner, Jonathan Rhys Meyer on the other hand do not seem to be the ideal actor to be cast opposite Travolta.And what crawled on his face and died? that thin frenchie moustache was irritating the shit out of me throughout the whole movie.
Cinematography and cameraworks weren't given much attention really..well cause there weren't much to begin with actually.There is a possibility that this movie will be heavily censored and thus editing will be fuckall but Its been given a M18 rating here and I don't really trust our beloved censorshit board so its better to wait for the DVD release or just download it.

Best Quote
Richard Stevens: I'm not your driver. I'm your partner.
FBI agent Charlie Wax: Yeah, you're the chess player. I read your file.
Richard Stevens: You play?
FBI agent Charlie Wax: Do I look like I play board games?

FBI agent Charlie Wax:Wax on! Wax off!

Recommended movies done by the director
District 13 (Banlieue 13)
Taken

Move Review of Up In The Air


Up in the Air - 7.5/10
Directed by Jason Reitman
Cast - George Clooney, Verma Farmiga,Anna Kendrick, Jason Bateman

Summary
With a job that has him traveling around the country firing people, Ryan Bingham leads an empty life out of a suitcase, until his company does the unexpected: ground him.

Review
Up in the air is a really good movie.with a good cast and a brilliant script,I couldn't really foresee a fuck up here.And I really like Jason Reitman's direction.Simple and yet effective.my first movie experience of him was Thank you for Smoking.Til today I still recommend anyone to watch that movie.So far from his track record,his movies are pretty witty and intelligent American movies which is rare cause most American directors like blowing shit up.And he doesn't seem to be following his father's(Ivan Reitman) kind of movies like Ghostbusters and kindergarden cop.oh and by the way Up in the Air is produced by both father and son.ok.. back to the movie.
As much as I enjoy watching George Clooney and I do think he's a pretty decent actor.He ain't gonna win the Oscar for best actor.He has been trying really hard to win that award.He always gets nominated but just can't seem to win it.Why? because although he is a good actor,he always acts in rather forgettable roles.so this year is gonna be the same for him as well unless he gets the Sympathy win like the one Martin Scorsese got for that piece of shit movie called The Departed.Fuck That.I really enjoyed Anna Kendrick's acting and she pretty much shines in every scene she's in.I'll be looking forward to her next work.Jason Bateman as usual did a good job except for his appearance.That thin George Michael beard thingy he had on his face,made him look like an idiot.
The editing for this movie was nicely done as well.I enjoyed the cinematography.Lots of very nice scenic shots.But the script is what enthralled me the most for Up In The Air.People in the cinema were laughing and clapping to quite a few lines as well thoroughly enjoying it.

Don't bother bringing kids or adults who think like kids to this movie cause they are not gonna understand it.
Up In The Air is pretty much for anyone who enjoys a good script.

Worth watching on a weekend.

Best Quote
Ryan Bingham: It's ten million miles.
Natalie Keener: Okay. Isn't ten million just a number?
Ryan Bingham: Pi's just a number.
Natalie Keener: Well, we all need a hobby. No, I- I- I don't mean to belittle your collection. I get it. It sounds cool.
Ryan Bingham: I'd be the seventh person to do it. More people have walked on the moon.
Natalie Keener: Do they throw you a parade?
Ryan Bingham: You get lifetime executive status. You get to meet the chief pilot, Maynard Finch.
Natalie Keener: Wow.
Ryan Bingham: And they put your name on the side of a plane.
Natalie Keener: Men get such hardons from putting their names on things. You guys don't grow up. It's like you need to pee on everything.

Natalie Keener: He broke up with me by text message.
Ryan Bingham: Wow. That's kind of like getting fired over the Internet.

Alex Goran: What a weasly prick.
Natalie Keener: Yeah, but what does that make me? Someone who falls for a prick.
Alex Goran: We all fall for the prick. Pricks are spontaneous, they're unpredictable and they're fun. And then we're surprised when they turn out to be pricks.

Ryan Bingham: If you think about it, your favorite memories, the most important moments in your life... were you alone? Life's better with company.

Recommended movies done by the director
Juno
Thank you for Smoking

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Movie Review of The Wolfman


Wolfman - 1/10
Directed by Joe Johnston
Cast - Benicio Del Toro,Anthony Hopkins,Hugo Weaving,Emily Blunt

Plot Summary
Upon his return to his ancestral homeland, an American man (Del Toro) is bitten, and subsequently cursed by, a werewolf.

Review
My girlfriend and I went to the cinema the other day to catch a movie.She wanted to watch a foreign flick but when I saw Wolfman was screening,I told her screw everything,cos we are so watching this.She asked me,is Wolfman good?
And I confidently told her,you have Anthony Hopkins,Hugo Weaving and Benicio Del Toro all in one movie.How can this possibly go wrong? well it fucking did! This is definitely one of the worst movies for 2010.what a total fuck up!
From the get go,you will discover to your horror,you have wasted your money watching this piece of wolfshit.(yea that's what I'm calling this movie...Wolf Shit).I'll start with the acting first.I have alot of respect for Anthony Hopkins,but that definitely went down quite abit after his dismal performance in Wolf Shit.He clearly seems bored in practically every scene.Its pretty simple Mr Hopkins,STOP TRYING TO BE HANNIBAL LECTOR! and Benicio Del Toro,what the fuck happened??? you were excellent as a drug addict in "Things we lost in the fire". why oh why did you take up this movie? didn't you read the fucking script?Hugo Weaving was only cool in one scene which was at the bar other than that...he was shit! Last but not least, Emily Blunt.Even though I'm an Atheist,I was praying for her to die quickly so I wouldn't have to watch her shitty acting throughout the whole show.Alas there is no god,and she lived.
I'm also pretty sure the editing for Wolf Shit was done by someone who was gouging their eyes out at the same time.And the script was written by a retarded foetus of a werefox and a glittering vampire.
Direction was shit as well.Joe Johnston directed Jurassic Park 3 which pretty much sums up.I wish he was the satellite phone in that dinosaur's stomach.

Even if you are a fan of the original Wolfman or a fan of werewolf movies,DO NOT watch this movie.
I should have listened to my girlfriend and watched a foreign flick instead.

Best Quote
None!

Recommended movies done by the director
Honey I shrunk the kids
Hidalgo
Jumanji

Friday, January 29, 2010

Movie Review of The Blindside


The Blindside - 6.5/10
Directed by John Lee hancock
Cast - Sandra Bullock,Tim Mcgraw,Quinton Aaron

Plot Summary
The story of Michael Oher, a homeless and traumatized boy who became an All American football player and first round NFL draft pick with the help of a caring woman and her family.

Review
I've always enjoyed sports movies,be it if its a serious one(Any Given Sunday),a comedy(The Replacements) or one of those
" triumphant human spirit" kinda movie.And Blindside turns out to be a "based on a true story" kinda movie.Although,I'm not a particularly a big fan of Sandra Bullock's movies.To my surprise,Blindside turned to be a pleasant experience indeed.Bullock's acting is pretty good and overall it was a touching movie indeed.
First off,the cast for this movie is pretty good.Kathy Bates as the tutor and the 2 Tuohy kids acted well.I felt that everyone did a decent job except Tim Mcgraw.I'm pretty sure there are decent actors out there who can play a rich red neck instead of a country singer.
The chemistry between Quinton Aaron's character and Sandra Bullock's character was just simply moving and fantastic.There are some emotional scenes and the pace for this movie was good.
Cinematography and editing were done well.John Lee Hancock directed this well,I might add.
Overall,Blindside is a good movie and I would definitely recommend you to watch this movie with your loved ones on a weekend.

Quotes
Leigh Anne Touhy: Michael, I want you to have a good time but if you get a girl pregnant out of wedlock, I will crawl into the car, drive up to Oxford and cut off your penis.
S.J. Tuohy: She's not kidding.
Leigh Anne Touhy: I don't want to name names but one of the coaches took him to a titty bar. Gave him nightmares.
Sean Tuohy: Who would've thought we'd have a black son before we met a Democrat?

Recommended movies done by the director
The Rookie

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Movie Review of It's Complicated


It's Complicated - 4.5/10
Directed by Nancy Meyers
Cast - Meryl Streep,Steve Martins,Alec Baldwin

Plot Summary
During her son's college graduation, Jane hooks up with her ex-husband, Jake, who's married to a younger woman. As if being your ex's mistress isn't tough enough, Jane also finds herself drawn to Adam, a smitten architect.

Review
Sadly,I just do not find Steve Martin funny anymore.He used to crack me up from his old movies like The 3 Amigos,Planes,Trains and Automobiles,Bowfinger,Father of the Bride,Parenthood and a few more.Now he does shit movies like The Pink Panther and Cheaper by the dozen.Its the same as in this movie,Steve Martin is no longer funny.Sad...but I'll move on.
Meryl Streep is an amazing actress and she always will be.She doesn't need to be brilliant in this movie and she seems to be enjoying herself which is a good thing I guess.
Editing for this movie was horrible and the "censorshit boars" did another "fantastic" job of cutting out nudity and shit like that.It is not ok to show nudity but its ok to show someone smoking weed....Go fucking figure!
I did not like the way the movie was shot but then again this isn't the kind of movie you would really look into that.
However I did like the script,it was funny and it made everyone laugh in the cinema(which is a good sign). As Nancy Meyers wrote and directed this,I would say she should just continue writing and leave the directing part to someone else.Just look at her previous movies and you can see a pattern.But as much as I liked the script,I found the story confusingly stupid and I wanted to kill all the 3 kids at one time( fucked up acting).The ending was just a total fuckall.It made no fucking sense and it made Meryl Streep's character look like a dumb blonde slut.
Anyway the two saving grace for It's Complicated are Alec Baldwin and John Krasinski (of Office fame).Every scene that they are in are just balls out funny.I could say it was worth watching this on a weekday just for them.

Or you can watch this on a weekend only if you have nothing else to watch...

Best Quotes
Jake: And what's with the "big guy"? Is it because I'm fat?

Recommended movies done by the director
Something's got to give
The Holiday
What women want

Movie Review of Invictus


Invictus - 7/10
Directed by Clint Eastwood
Cast - Morgan Freeman,Matt Damon

Plot Summary
Nelson Mandela, in his first term as the South African President, initiates a unique venture to unite the apartheid-torn land: enlist the national rugby team on a mission to win the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

Review
Despite just one major flaw,Invictus is a really feel good movie.Morgan Freeman who acts as Nelson Mandela,was like as though he was born just for this role.And from what I have read even Nelson Mandela himself personally chose Freeman to act as himself.From the way he talks,moves and even dances,Freeman does it with such ease.I definitely see Morgan Freeman being nominated for the awards for this movie and in fact he should win it.
Matt Damon was pretty good,but when I saw the first scene he was in which was a rugby match during the huddle was which he spoke his first line in a South African accent,"We got to FUCKUS! FUCKUS! (he was trying to say focus). I thought...die lah this fella gonna fuck up the movie for sure.But as the movie went on,Damon was pretty good in his role (even though the real Francois Pienaar is much bigger than him).
Clint Eastwood did a good job directing this movie,despite the trademark slow pace which wasn't really suitable for the rugby scenes.That was the only flaw to this movie...all the rugby scenes.A lot of shots missed the intensity of the game.and some shots didnt really point out the vital parts of the game.Editing was substandard mainly because of the rugby scenes.
Cinematography on the other hand was so so only
After the disastrous fuckall movie,Gran Torino which has FICTIONAL Hmong (who) gangsters in America,I would say Invictus is a welcome return for Clint Eastwood.

Worth watching on a weekend.

Best Quotes
Nelson Mandela: [watching a rugby match] All the whites cheer for South Africa. All the blacks cheer for England.

Jason Tshabalala: According to the experts, we'll reach the quarter-finals, and no further.
Nelson Mandela: According to the experts, you and I should still be dead.

Nelson Mandela: I thank whatever gods may be / For my unconquerable soul. / I am the master of my fate / I am the captain of my soul.

Recommended movies done by the director
Changeling
Mystic Rivers
Space Cowboys
Million Dollar Baby

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Movie Review of Sherlock Holmes


Sherlock Holmes - 5/10
Directed by Guy Ritchie
Cast - Robert Downey Jr,Jude Law,Rache McAdams,Mark Strong

Plot Summary
Detective Sherlock Holmes and his stalwart partner Watson engage in a battle of wits and brawn with a nemesis whose plot is a threat to all of England.

Review
Ever since Guy Ritchie married Madonna,his movies had turned to shit.There was Swept Away,a movie with Madonna which was fuckall.Then there was Revolver which I nearly wanted to stab someone...and after that it was RockNRolla which I realized that someone was none other than Guy fucking Ritchie that I wanted to stab.Although, I will give credit where credit is due.Snatch and Lock Stock were really fun and good movies which anyone can watch.
Now when I saw the trailers for Sherlock Holmes,I did have mixed feelings for it.I do like Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes very much..much so that I have read all of Sherlock's stories when I was young.So to give it a modern twist...a Guy Ritchie twist to Sherlock,I was rather apprehensive after all of Guy Ritchie's previous fuck ups.( He painted Ray Liotta, gold in Revolver for fucks sake! )
I do like Robert Downey Jr and since he is having a comeback at the moment.I did want to see how he would pull off a English accent and see what kind of chemistry he would have with Jude Law.
Now even after watching the movie,I still do have mixed feelings about it. Well at least this one is a tad much better than the last 2 movies Guy Ritchie did.I'll give him that.The movie was enjoyable,it has all the significant trademarks of a Guy Ritchie movies especially the fight scenes.RDJ and Jude Law were pretty ok even though I feel the script could have been better.However,I do not know why but I find RDJ's English accent alittle weird(not in a good way of course).Rachel McAdams was absolutely clueless and fuckall even the bulldog acted better than her!
Cinematography and cameraworks were pretty much ordinary but I did like 1 shot where the camera did a 180 turn(streets scene)
To be honest,I did enjoy the revamped Sherlock Holmes and I would definitely watch the sequel.The one thing I hope they would change for the sequel however is revealing the villain right at the beginning...I would have preferred a classic "whodunit" instead.

It's fucking elementary...go watch it in the cinema.

Best Quotes
Sherlock Holmes: You've never complained about my methods before.
Dr. John Watson: I've never complained! When have I ever complained about you practicing the violin at three in the morning, or your mess? Your general lack of hygiene or the fact that you steal my clothes?

Dr. John Watson: [to Holmes as he guzzles a liquid] You do know what your are drinking is meant for eye surgery?

Recommended movies done by the director
Lock Stock and two smoking barrels
Snatch

Movie Review of Avatar


Avatar - 8.5/10
Directed by James Cameron
Cast - Sam Worthington,Sigourney Weaver,Giovani Ribisi,Zoey Saldana,Stephan Lang
Plot Summary
A paraplegic marine dispatched to the moon Pandora on a unique mission becomes torn between following his orders and protecting the world he feels is his home.

Review
I got to give it to James Cameron.He is definitely the best action/adventure director there is today.And when it comes to raising the bar,only James Cameron can do it.From movies like Terminator to Aliens,I've always enjoyed his movies except for Titanic( I blame Celine Dion for that.)
Avatar was like ten years in the making.Cameron already had the story and wanted to do it earlier but back then the special effects werent enough for him to tell his story.Until when he watched Lord of the rings especially the character Gollum (played by the wonderful Andy Serkis) did Cameron decided that the special effects now can be done.
By now everyone knows how expensive(400mil) it was to make Avatar and the special effects are too fucking amazing.It is totally out of this world.I have never seen shit like that before.And when I watched it in 3D for the first time.I totally went WHAT THE FUCK??? (In a good way of course).My mouth was wide open every 30seconds,I could barely eat my popcorn cause I was too engrossed and I did not feel the length of the movie at all (2hrs40mins).
Storyline is your typical standard Hollywood story with a feel good end and a positive message about saving the fucking world and crap like that.Editing was pretty good and so was the cinematography even though it was pretty much all green screen.I did like the acting.Zoe Saldana did a good job as the main female lead.Sigourney Weaver according to an interview said she was pretty much portraying James Cameron which in my opinion was pretty good.My favourite actor who pretty much stole the scene everytime he was in it was Stephen Lang as Colonel Miles Quaritch.He pretty much acts like yr typical bad ass military general minus the cigar smoking who hates hippies and doesnt give a fuck about anything except the army.And he has almost all the cool lines.Sam Worthington on the other hand was a bit of a letdown.He did not impress me in Terminator Salvation and he did not impress me in Avatar either.I pretty much feel he will not impress me in the upcoming remake of the classic stopmotion movie Clash of the Titans.
all in all..it is a good show which has morales and shit like that but fuck that...bottom line is it has great entertainment value.

I really recommend you to watch this movie in 3D. worth the money!

Best Quotes
Col. Quaritch: You are not in Kansas anymore. You are on Pandora, ladies and gentleman.

Recommended movies done by the director
Terminator 1 and 2
True Lies
Aliens
The Abyss

Monday, January 4, 2010

Movie Review of Did you hear about the Morgans?


Did you hear about the Morgans? - 1.5/10
Directed by Marc Lawrence
Cast - Hugh Grant,Sarah Jessica Parker,Sam Elliott,Mary Steenburgen

Plot Summary
In New York City, an estranged couple who witness a murder are relocated to small-town Wyoming as part of a witness-protection program.

Review
I've always enjoyed watching Hugh Grant's romantic comedies.It's the only kind of genre,he's really good in.everyone knows it,I'm pretty sure he knows it as well..cause you don't see Grant doing an action movie nor a drama as well.He usually has pretty good comedic timing but I have no fucking idea what went wrong in this movie.It can't be the director Marc Lawrence cause he has directed Grant twice and both of them were pretty decent.My opinion...its Sarah Jessica Parker.The woman looks fucking bio-degradable
for fucks sake.She looks like she is gonna melt under direct contact from the sun! not only does she look plastic,she acts plastic as well and yes she has no comedic timing.All her jokes fell flat and the chemistry between SJP and Grant is just very painful to watch.A really bad choice for the female cast.
The editing for this movie is either done by a fucking chimpanzee or a crack whore.It is so bad and so obvious.
Do not bother watching this crap at the cinemas no matter how big of a fan of Hugh Grant,you are.
This movie is a waste of your money and time.
Wait for channel 5 to show this crap.

Best Quotes
None.it was a fuckall script

Recommended movies done by the director
Music and Lyrics
2 Weeks Notice

Movie Review of Mother (Madeo)


Mother - 7/10
Directed by Joon Ho Bong
Cast - Bin Won,Ku Jin,Hye-Ja Kim

Plot Summary
A mother desperately searches for the killer that framed her mentally disabled son for their horrific murder.

Review
I first watched Joon Ho Bong's The Host,I was very impressed.To be honest I'm not a fan of Korean movies nor their dramas cause most of the time its always a love story.The storyline for The Host was fantastic and I just loved the flow of it.(Heard there is gonna be a Host 2).So when I found out that Mother(Madeo) was directed by the very same guy,I decided to watch it.And just as I was impressed with The Host...I am very impressed by Mother.
Mother has a fantastic cast(even though I do not know any of the actors).I have to say all the actors did a very good job.Hye-Ja Kim as the mother who will go through all kinds of shit for her mentally disabled son played by Bin Won is just fucking brilliant.Both of them play each other off very well.even the supporting cast did a pretty good job.
The only thing I didn't like about the movie was its length...128mins is a little too long for me.but then again almost all Korean movies are pretty draggy.The pacing for Mother is pretty slow but once midway onwards...is where the movie grips the viewers,leaving the viewers right at the edge of the seat.there are some scenes which are pretty edgy and some scenes were funny but once the twist comes in...I just went Woah!

Worth watching on a weekend and just because the title is Mother...it doesn't mean you should bring yr mom along for this one.

Recommended movies done by the director
The Host

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year

Hello everyone,

I know it has been sometime since I wrote any movie reviews.I could give you a bullshit lie and say I was busy or somecrap like that.but I aint gonna.I was just too fucking lazy and since it was the holidays...I just didnt give a fuck.
And I'm sorry.

Anyway..It's a brand new year now,and since I'm back at work,I may as well start writing reviews...so that's that.
I wish everyone a great year ahead.Enjoy it while it lasts cause in 2 years time,the world we know it will come to an end..everyone will die and only John Cusack will be alive.hahaha...
Happy New Year!

Cheers N Beers,
Subash