Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Movie review of Hope Springs


Hope Springs - 6/10
Directed by  David Frankel
Cast - Meryl Streep, Tommy Lee Jones, Steve Carrell, Elizabeth Shue, Mimi Rogers

Plot Summary
After thirty years of marriage, a middle-aged couple attends an intense, week-long counseling session to work on their relationship.

Review
A heart warming movie about an old couple who were having a mundane and dull relationship and the wife, Kay played by academy award winning actress, Meryl Streep wants to rekindle the romance like it was before with her husband, Arnold played by another Academy award winning actor, Tommy Lee Jones. I have to say the chemistry between this two is brilliant even though I think pretty much Tommy Lee Jones stole the show in every scene, he was in.Meryl Streep was her usual acting best. The scenes they share together were really nice and touching. It was like as if they have been together and known each other for years. My favorite scenes are at the therapy sessions where they have to answer questions that is out of their comfort zone and the awkwardness portrayed by them is just so believable and great. I guess the most difficult scenes were the love scenes. Fortunately, they were decently and tastefully done. If not it would just be old farts boinking each other's hearts out.
As the primary focus was on the old couple, lesser screen time was given to Steve Carrell. He did act well but was obviously overshadowed by Streep and Jones. Even lesser screen time given were Elizabeth Shue and Mimi Rogers(both still looked great) who just had one scene each.
Camera works was decent and I liked how the editing was done. Simple yet good. Script was funny as well. Director David Frankel did a pretty good job. Another thing I liked was a song by Annie Lennox selected for one particular sad scene which kinda amplified the sorrow. That song was on repeat for a few days for me.

I would recommend watching this movie with a loved one especially with someone you have been for awhile now.You can even ask your parents to watch this. What I would NOT recommend is watching this with your parents cause the love scenes between Streep and Jones might just give you, instant horrifying images of your parents making out when you see it. hahaha.

Best Quotes
Kay: He is everything. But I'm... I'm really lonely. And to be with someone, when you're not really with him can... it's... I think I might be less lonely... alone.

Dr. Bernie Feld: Arnold, do you have fantasies?
Arnold Soames: em mm, threesome
Dr. Bernie Feld: With?
Arnold Soames: Carol
Kay Soames: Carol with the Corkies?

Dr. Feld: Kay and Arnold, I’m so glad you’re here.
Arnold: Well that makes one of us.

Arnold: I wonder if he talks to his wife like that. Mildred, I find it very interesting that you are naked.

Recommended movies done by the director
Devil Wears Prada
Marley and Me

Monday, September 17, 2012

Movie review of Resident Evil: Retribution


Resident Evil: Retribution - 1/10
Directed by Paul WS Anderson
Cast - Milla Jovovich, Michelle Rodriguez, Sienna Guillory, Kevin Durrand

Plot Summary
The Umbrella Corporation's deadly T-virus continues to ravage the Earth, transforming the global population into legions of the flesh eating Undead. The human race's last and only hope, Alice, awakens in the heart of Umbrella's most clandestine operations facility and unveils more of her mysterious past as she delves further into the complex.

Review
95 mins of my life has been utterly wasted by watching this. Resident Evil: Retribution is definitely one of the top worst movies for this year. What the fuck was Paul WS Anderson thinking? From the start, I knew this was gonna be a bad movie but 20 mins into the movie and I wanted to punch the screen.What these fucktards did was turn a video game based movie into a fucking video game. Thats the plot of RER. Acting was horrendous but that's okay cause the Resident Evil franchise doesn't require Oscar worthy acting, its action based and so minimal acting is required. Sadly even the action sequences were bad.Here are some of the reasons why I am pissed after watching this shit.
First and foremost, WHY THE FUCK ARE ZOMBIES RIDING BIKES,DOING WHEELIES??? AND SHOOTING GUNS AND RPGS??? That was the most stupidest thing to do. And for Paul WS Anderson to use a silly explanation that the zombies are "evolving" because of the virus is dumb. FUCK YOU Paul WS Anderson! viewers are not fucking idiots. George A. Romero will not approve of this.
If you ever happen to meet anyone who is a Resident Evil fan who says that even in the games, the zombies are riding bikes and shooting guns so its okay. I want you to slap the fucker repeatedly till he is unconscious.
Bringing back dead characters from the previous movies is a real douche bag move. Its lazy. And to make it even worse,you bring back pretty much all the characters that have been killed. What the fuck was Paul WS Anderson thinking? He must have been high on something when he wrote this. And this is perfect for Michelle Rodriguez cause she is dying half the fuck time in her movies and this time round she is coming back from the dead. Also bringing back a token black guy and then killing him again is a dick move as well.

Shit script, fuckall acting, lanjiao characters, stupid action sequences and a retarded plot is what Resident Evil: Retribution is all about. Do not pay money to watch this. In fact do not even download or watch this on television. Avoid at all cost and do something worthwhile instead.

Best Quotes
None. Its Shit.

Recommended movies done by the director
Event Horizon
Mortal Kombat
Soldier

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Movie review of Total Recall


Total Recall - 4/10
Directed by Lens Wiseman
Cast - Colin Farrell, Kate Beckinsale, Jennifer Biel,Bryan Cranston

Plot Summary
A factory worker, Douglas Quaid, begins to suspect that he is a spy after visiting Rekall - a company that provides its clients with implanted fake memories of a life they would like to have led - goes wrong and he finds himself on the run.

Review
When I first found out that Hollywood was doing a remake on the cult classic, Total Recall which had Arnold Schwarzenegger in it, I knew it was gonna be a bad idea.Even after watching the trailers, I wasn't convinced and true enough the remake was disappointing. There were so many elements and key characters intentionally taken off from the original and to me those were the main reasons why Total Recall the remake failed. In the original you had four villains. Sharon Stone as the evil wife, Michael Ironside as the guy going after the hero. It did not make any sense to me when you morph two main characters into one character which is played by Kate Beckinsale. One moment, she does the Sharon Stone crazy psycho wife and then chasing Farrell's character like Michael Ironside. First, Beckinsale is horrible as a crazy psycho wife and second she does not have the menacing glare which Michael Ironside has. All she does is talk shit, kick and jump around and look at you angrily with her face down and she doesnt seem to fucking die which became a tad bit annoying. As much as I love Bryan Cranston in Breaking Bad, as Cohaagen, he was pretty normal.There wasn't anything interesting in his acting at all. And for the fourth villain, WHERE THE FUCK WAS BENNY? They totally ignored the character, Benny from the original and he played such a vital role. That was one of the things that pissed me off about the remake.Also no Quarto and no Johnny the cab driver. It's all these zany characters that made the original Total Recall a cult classic and when you take out all these elements,all you get is the same old Hollywood boring ass movie about someone being chased all over the fuck place.All the writers and director did was ripped the balls off the original and made a pussy version of it.
The only scene I liked in this movie was the small tribute they did at the airport immigration scene. Colin Farrell will use a disguise to sneak in and you will see the original lady as the disguise in the original version just before him and she will say the same lines she did before.That was nice. Oh yeah and the three tits woman bit was cool.
Apart from that,this was sadly a disappointing movie and I wouldn't recommend anyone watching this at the cinemas. Just wait for it to be on TV.

Best Quotes
Three-Breasted Woman: You're going to wish you had three hands.

Recommended movies done by the director
Underworld
Live free Die Hard

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Movie review of Dark Knight Rises


The Dark Knight Rises - 7/10
Directed by Christopher Nolan
Cast - Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Gary Oldman,Marion Coutillard, Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Plot Summary
Despite his tarnished reputation after the events of The Dark Knight, in which he took the rap for Dent's crimes, Batman feels compelled to intervene to assist the city and its police force which is struggling to cope with Bane's plans to destroy the city.

Review
Definitely one of the most highly anticipated movie to watch this year. The final part of Nolan's Batman trilogy. Was it up to exceeded expectations? Did it disappoint? Yes and Yes. Why? Cause there were good and bad points in this movie. I will start with the good ones first.
Production for TDR is simply amazing.The camera works was awesome even the footages shot in IMAX.The introduction of Bane scene was interestingly shot.Using stuntmen to do that scene was intense and exciting to watch. Direction was good.Nolan did a great job. I did like his take on Batman and this was a good end for the Dark Knight trilogy. From what I read, minimal CGI and effects were used. So all those scenes with tonnes of people (the wall street scene and the stadium) were actual extras and not CGI.Which I thought was pretty cool a la old school kinda way to film grand scale movies.
Casting for the movie was pretty good aside from the usual gang like Christian Bale, Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine and Gary Oldman. you have new actors like Joseph Gordon Levitt as Blake, Anne Hathaway as Catwoman and Tom Hardy as Bane. I've always enjoyed watching JGL's acting. He definitely has matured over the years from the kid in third rock from the sun to cobra commander in GI Joe to well... Blake in Dark Knight Rises. For awhile the only actress that could pull off catwoman was Michelle Pfeiffer in Burton's Batman 2.But Anne Hathaway did a fantastic job as Catwoman and I have to say, that ass!!! Tom Hardy was indeed perfect for Bane. This is one actor I have been looking out for ever since I watched Bronson and after this performance I will continue to look out for his next movie.The two actors that stood out for me in DKR was Tom Hardy and the ever wonderful Michael Caine.For Hardy it was his take on Bane. It was a different kind of evil he presented unlike Heath Ledger's Joker.This was pure brute evil.The training he did to get the physique was hardcore and that weird gypsy accent he did was fucking brilliant even though you cant hear some of the shit he says properly, it still was pretty awesome. Oh yeah and zero cardio, you never see Bane running. hahaha. My favourite Alfred scenes were the talk he and Bruce Wayne were having at the staircase and at the graveyard.Simply Michael Caine at his best.
Now for the bad points. One of the WORST editing ever done. Especially for the first hour alone, I was wondering who the fuck edited this movie? cuts were so abrupt and at all the wrong parts. If this was done to cut down the timing to 2 hours and 45mins, they did it all wrong. I sincerely hope that is the reason though. Also this movie should have a higher rating cause I don't get to see much blood despite shitloads of people dying and every fucking time Bane kills someone, the camera will zoom all the way out which pissed me off. You need to see him kill in close up cause thats how terrifying he is supposed to be.
The scene where Foley (Matthew Modine) is shooting a handheld gun then cuts away to Miranda (Marion Coutillard) going in the tumbler then you see Foley again with a machine gun??? cut to Miranda ordering the driver to kill everyone and then you see Foley lying down dead. What the fuck that was about? you may as well put BLAM! KAPOW! SMACK! like the Adam West's Batman series instead.Fucking stupid. And what the fuck is with the sparklers??? you will see it first when Bane has his first fight with Batman. Batman getting his shit kicked in, takes something out of his utility belt (which a friend of mine says is just there to hold his pants) and throws at Bane.Sparklers....Cause I cant figure out what else it was supposed to be other than sparklers and it didn't do jack shit either. You will get to see the sparklers again this time on the road when the policemen are rushing towards Bane's henchmen.Apparently that was supposed to be gunfire. It was cheap and stupid. You will also see a henchman spraying bullets at the policemen who are about 50 meters from him with a sub machine gun.And only ONE policeman falls down. I understand its not easy filming a scene which has a lot of extras but COME ON!!! that was fucking ridiculous! Last one was Bane getting a "Boba Fett death". For those who have never watched Star Wars ( I might have to slap you for that), Boba Fett dies without closure and has a sudden silly death. Hence a "Boba Fett death" means a character either died suddenly or in a silly way and without closure.And for such an awesome character like Bane to receive that is just sad.
Despite all these obvious mistakes, I still enjoyed the movie.Production wise it was brilliant and I did like the story and the final twist even the ending as well.Comic purists might not like it for sure.
I guess among the trilogy, Dark Knight Rises would be my second favorite after all. Still worth a weekend ticket to watch it.

Best quotes
Bruce Wayne: Why didn't you just... kill me?
Bane: You don't fear death... You welcome it. Your punishment must be more severe.
Bruce Wayne: Torture?
Bane: Yes. But not of your body... Of your soul.
Bruce Wayne: Where am I?
Bane: Home, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this prison is the worst hell on earth... Hope. Every man who has ventured here over the centuries has looked up to the light and imagined climbing to freedom. So easy... So simple... Many have died trying. I learned here that there can be no true despair without hope. So, as I terrorize Gotham, I will feed its people hope to poison their souls. I will let them believe they can survive so that you can watch them clamoring over each other to "stay in the sun." You can watch me torture an entire city and when you have truly understood the depth of your failure, we will fulfill Ra's al Ghul's destiny... We will destroy Gotham and then, when it is done and Gotham is ashes, then you have my permission to die

Bane: Not as serious as yours, I'm afraid... Mister Wayne.

Bane: You fight like a younger man, with nothing held back. Admirable... but mistaken.

Catwoman: About that whole no guns thing... Turns out I'm not as committed to it as you are.

Bane: [Listening to the national anthem before the Gotham Knights football game] What a lovely, lovely voice.
[Song ends and football game begins]
Bane: Let the games begin!
[hits detonator and bombs go off across Gotham and the football field crumbles]

Roland Daggett: I paid you a small fortune...
Bane: And you think this gives you power over me?

Batman: [on a rooftop, Batman turns away from Catwoman, then turns back and realises she has gone] So that's what that feels like.

Recommended movies done by the director
Dark Knight
Prestige
Inception
Memento
Batman Begins

Monday, July 16, 2012

Movie review of The Amazing Spiderman

Amazing Spiderman - 7/10
Directed by Marc Webb
Cast - Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Rhys Ifan, Martin Sheen, Sally Field

Plot Summary
Peter Parker finds a clue that might help him understand why his parents disappeared when he was young. His path puts him on a collision course with Dr. Curt Connors, his father's former partner.

Review
Though the movie was alittle too long, I did however enjoyed watching the new reboot of Spiderman. With a new cast and a new director, Sony Pictures (who signed 7 spidey movies from Marvel) took a risk. That risk, I have to say must have paid off. Pacing for the amazing spiderman was slow in the beginning but it got faster and more exciting midway through. Even though all the point of view web slinging scenes were pretty cool, I felt it was ripped off from this Xbox game called mirror's edge.At least the fight scenes were great and thrilling to watch especially the final fight scene at the tower.
The scene that annoyed me the most were the love scenes between Peter Parker(Andrew Garfield) and Emma Stone(Gwen Stacy). Half the fuck time they are stammering,smiling like idiots and muttering shit. I had the strong urge to slap them when that happens. Andrew Garfield, in my opinion did a good job acting as spidey and Parker.Just cut out the stammering part. And I read that he actually "studied" how spiders moved to "incorporate" it into his role.Bitch please... spiders have 8 legs,you have 2. How the fuck are you gonna "incorporate" that in your role.That's just a stupid thing to say.Shut the fuck up, you are not a method actor.
Don't get me wrong,I do like Emma Stone. She is a pretty decent actress and she chooses her roles well but every fucking time she laughs or smile,its just too fucking creepy. Her eyes are wide open and she does that thing with her mouth that you can see all her teeth when she is laughing.That I find creepy and a turn off.I don't know why but Rhys Ifan always seem to remind me of Liam Gallagher of Oasis.He's pretty cool and does a great job as The Lizard.Lucky he didn't say he "studied" lizards or shit like that. And what the fuck happened to Forest Gump's mom aka the award winning Sally Fields? She looked like she had cooking oil as botox and sadly she was completely under used for this movie.
Storyline was good, I just didn't quite like the ending.Comic fans would probably hate the ending as well.
Direction for the movie was good. Marc Webbs did a good job.Editing was decent and so was the cinematography. Script wasn't good,Spidey is a funny character and he needs more funny lines,the ones in the movie just weren't funny enough.
All in all, I enjoyed watching The Amazing Spiderman.Sony did the right thing firing Sam Raimi and Tobey Macguire and getting a new director and cast.They have 3 more Spidey movies to go so lets hope it wont fuck up like how Raimi fucked Spiderman 3.

Best Quotes
George Stacy: Thirty-eight of New York's finest, versus one guy in a unitard.

Dr. Curt Connors: Ready to play God?

Peter Parker: We all have secrets: the ones we keep... and the ones that are kept from us.

Recommended movies done by the director
500 days of summer

Monday, July 9, 2012

Movie review of Prometheus


Prometheus - 8.5/10
Directed by Ridley Scott
Cast - Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron, Noomi Rapace, Idris Elba, Guy Pearce, Logan Marshall Green

Plot
A team of explorers discover a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a journey to the darkest corners of the universe. There, they must fight a terrifying battle to save the future of the human race.

Review
Finally a fantastic Science Fiction movie.I have to say Ridley Scott directed this brilliantly and of course great writing from Jon Spaihts and Damon Lindelof (Lost).Prometheus did indeed live up to my expectations, of course it wasn't as terrifying as Alien but dare I say...close enough. What I clearly didn't realize at that time was this was actually the prequel of the Alien series. Sure I heard rumors that it was a prequel and it wasn't a prequel but frankly I didn't really care. Its a science fiction movie and it's from a legendary director Ridley Scott.That's good enough reason for me to spend my money at the cinema.

The movie is 2 hours long and to what I have read so far there is about 30 mins of footage being cut off because of time constraint.I'm sure we will get to see that in the blu ray.
The casting for Prometheus is superb.Everyone did a fantastic job.Noomi Rapace as a this generation Ellen Ripley is amazing. she acted out very well and her portrayals of various emotions was good. I knew she was gonna be a fucking good actress when I first saw her in the original Girl with the dragon tattoo.Logan Marshall Green did a good job as well. The rivalry between him and Fassbender in a few scenes had really good chemistry betwwen them.The smaller roles by Idris Elba,Charlize Theron and Guy Pearce maybe a little minimal but definitely essential for the plot. The one who stole the show is definitely David the android brilliantly portrayed by the ever wonderfull Michael Fassbender.Of all the androids, in the Alien trilogy, David is the creepiest android. Ash from Alien is definitely the most evil and down right scariest. Bishop from Aliens(My favourite)... Well, Lance Henrikssen might just be a fucking android. The only down side of David was when he was decapitated. Only Bishop does the classic decapitated android head scene very well.
I really loved the direction of Ridley Scott.The pacing was fantastic. Camera works were brilliantly shot.The special effects are done by WETA and its awesome.

All in all ,Ridley Scott hasn't failed in delivering a fantastic science fiction movie and I'm looking forward to any sequels to Prometheus. One thing is for sure though, It has been sometime since Hollywood has come out with a movie that everyone can discuss and talk about and Prometheus is one such movie.

Best quotes

Meredith Vickers: A king has his reign, and then he dies. It's inevitable.

David: Big things have small beginnings.

David: How far would you go to get your answers?

Charlie Holloway: What we hoped to achieve was to meet our makers, to get answers why they made us in the first place.
 David: Why do you think your people made me?
Charlie Holloway: We made ya 'cause we could.
David: Can you imagine how disappointing it would be for you to hear the same thing from your creator?

Recommended movies done by the director
Alien
Black Hawk Down
Blade Runner
Gladiator
Thelma and Louise
Black rain

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Movie review of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel  - 6.5/10
Directed by John Madden
Cast - Judi Dench, Tom Wilkinson,Bill Nighy, Maggie Smith,Dev Patel

Plot Summary
A group of British retirees decide to "outsource" their retirement to less expensive and seemingly exotic India. Enticed by advertisements for the newly restored Marigold Hotel, they arrive to find the palace a shell of its former self.

Review
What got me interested in watching this movie was the cast.I didn't do any research nor did I watched the trailer at all.In fact I didn't even knew this was based on a book by Deborah Moggach. Now with a fantastic cast of British actors and actresses,The best exotic Marigold hotel is a simple yet heart warming movie.It is also funny as hell and the cast did a fine job of carrying the movie. Despite the plot being a little similar to Love actually,I still found this movie fun to watch. And its also evident that the cast were enjoying themselves in this movie.Now the "retirees" are all powerhouses.Judi Dench as a widow who is lonely and a little depressed. Tom Wilkinson, a judge who suddenly calls it a day and decides to go to India to look for someone from his past. Bill Nighy, a loyal husband who is in a relationship for 40 years with a wife who just harps on him all the fuck time(Penelope Wilton did a good job). Ronald Pickup and Celia Imrie who just want to fuck and not be lonely.Maggie Smith who is a racist and she has to go to India for a hip replacement surgery. Yup, you read it right...Maggie Smith aka Professor Minerva McGonagall of Harry Potter fame as a racist. And it was Maggie Smith who stole the show.Every scene she comes in,you either laugh or feel sorry for her and she was brilliant.
Direction was good.John Madden did a fine job.I really liked the introduction scene in the airport where you will find all of them being together despite them being strangers and all.Also there was one beautiful shot where Tom Wilkinson's character meets his friend.That shot was so beautiful,it captured the emotions going through both of them. I didn't quite like the street and roads shots especially when they are in vehicles but still it really wasn't that bad. Script was wonderful, touching and filled with British humor. I also didn't quite like how the movie ended.I felt it was a little too rushed and the part where an old Indian man suddenly out of nowhere somehow makes everything OK between the young Indian couple acted by Dev Patel and Tena Desae.

That being said,I would still recommend everyone to watch this with a loved one, perhaps on a weekday or if you like subtle British humor.

Best quotes
Evelyn: Yes
[It is builder's tea]
Evelyn: , we dunk biscuits into it.
Sunaina's Brother: Dunk?
Evelyn: Means lowering the biscuit into the tea and letting it soak in there and trying to calculate the exact moment before the biscuit dissolves, when you whip it up into your mouth and enjoy the blissful union of biscuits and tea combined. It's more relaxing than it sounds.

Muriel: There's an Indian in my room!

Muriel: He's not gonna wash the colour off. (looking at the black surgeon washing his hands)

Orderly: My wife is from Mumbai.
Muriel: Well don't blame me, you married her!

Sonny: Everything will be all right in the end... if it's not all right then it's not the end.

Recommended movies done by the director
The Debt
Shakespeare in love
Proof

Monday, May 21, 2012

Movie review of The Raid:Redemption


The Raid:Redemption - 8/10
Directed by Gareth Evans
Cast - Iko Uwais, Joe Taslim, Yayan Ruhian, Ray Sahetapy

Plot Summary
In the Jakarta slums, a derelict apartment building has become a no-go area - even the police are unwilling to enter. It has become a safe-house for the most dangerous killers and gangsters. A SWAT team infiltrate the building, under the cover of darkness, to remove its owner - a notorious drug lord named Tama.

Review
You know when you watch a movie without knowing anything about it, unsure if it is gonna be a good or bad movie and whether will you regret paying money for it. The Raid was one of those. I knew absolutely nothing of the movie,Heck, I didn't even know it was an Indonesian movie till I bought the tickets.And boy was I in for one helluva ride! The first scene which introduces the hero, Rama played wonderfully by Iko Uwais. A very subtle and touching introduction,I have to say.And thats just for only 5 mins into the movie. Without further ado, the action starts and doesn't end.Yup...the action doesn't fucking end! The action sequences were so intense that I couldn't stop moving about in  my seat! The fight choreographs were meticulously planned and executed.Definitely one of the best fight scenes I have seen in a long time.Martial arts used in this movie is a traditional Indonesian form of martial arts known as Pencat Silat.None of that slow motion shit,its all lightning quick speed and intense like fuck.My favorite fight scenes are the ones involving a knife and a baton. Remember the famous scene in Bourne Identity where Matt damon uses a pen and pokes a various number of holes onto the bad guy's body? Well, our protagonist, Rama uses a knife and pokes various number of holes onto a various number of bad guys.And the kill scenes....brilliant, creative and gory. The guys who thought of all the kill scenes must be some sick fucks. Some of them are so hardcore, you are bound to cringe or go Ouch! The Raid is an action movie that doesn't pull back any punches. It's dirty,violent and brilliantly done.
The direction for this movie is really good.Kudos to Gareth Evans for this. I really liked the colouring of the film, it gives out a very gritty feel to it. The editing was pretty decent as well.I loved the camera works.There was one particular scene where the action is from one floor and then it is spilled down the bottom floor and the cameramen captures it wonderfully and cleverly too as I watched the making of The Raid.There is not much on the plot,its nothing too fancy as the director is making it out to be a full on action movie and not a halfass one.The acting was good.I loved the bad guys especially Mad Dog and Tama portrayed wonderfully by Yayan Ruhian and Ray Sahetapy respectively.To what I have read, Yayan Ruhian and Iko Uwais are the main fight choreographers.I would love to see Yayan, Iko and Gareth work together again. Script for this movie is a little weird for me as it was in Indonesian.The weird thing was, in the english subtitles there were lots of fucks but whenever the word fuck is being said,the Indonesian says "Anjing" and to what I know,that means "dog'.Oh well, its still a great show nonetheless.

I would highly recommend everyone to watch this. By far the best action movie for me this year and it is uncensored (M18).  It's really fucking awesome and I'm gonna watch it again!

Best quotes
Mad Dog: Pulling a trigger is like ordering a takeout.

Tama: Go to work and enjoy yourself.

Recommended movies done by the director
Merantau

Friday, May 11, 2012

Movie review of A Dangerous Method

A dangerous method - 2/10
Directed by David Cronenberg
Cast - Michael Fassbender, Viggo Mortensen, Keira Knightley 

Plot
Suffering from hysteria, Sabina Spielrein is hospitalized under the care of Dr. Carl Jung who has begun using Dr. Sigmund Freud's talking cure with some of his patients. Spielrain's psychological problems are deeply rooted in her childhood and violent father. She is highly intelligent however and hopes to be a doctor, eventually becoming a psychiatrist in her own right. The married Jung and Spielrein eventually become lovers. Jung and Freud develop an almost father-son relationship with Freud seeing the young Jung as his likely successor as the standard-bearer of his beliefs. A deep rift develops between them when Jung diverges from Freud's belief that while psychoanalysis can reveal the cause of psychological problems it cannot cure the patient.

Review
This is unfortunately one of the worst movies for this year. Everything is basically fucked up in this movie. And to think Cronenberg directing Viggo Mortensen and Michael Fassbender would be absolutely fantastic.Then to make it even more shittier, you have Keira Knightley, possibly one of the worst actresses sadly alive today. From the get go,just barely the first two minutes of the movie, I wanted to instantly punch the screen cause you see Keira acting mad.That whole carriage scene itself should have made me stopped watching this pile of shit... but I carried on.Then she started jutting out her chin about 5000 times. Apparently that's her way of telling the idea she is stark raving mad. I don't advocate beating women but for Keira, I will gladly beat her to a pulp.And this is just 15 minutes into the movie only. There is a scene in Monty Python's Life of Brian where you see 2 characters who are slightly mad and one juts out his chin as well.THEY did a better fucking job than this cunt! She can't even do the Russian accent convincingly and consistently. One moment,her Russian accent sounds forced and then its back to her British accent.
Some one should really slap Cronenberg for allowing this to happen as well.
Fassbender was disappointing in this.seriously lanjiao acting from him. His reactions were dull especially when he said he was madly in love. A fucking stone would have looked better when it is madly in love. And that crying scene was just too painful to watch.I didn't know whether he wanted to take a shit badly or that was crying.
The only saving grace was Viggo Mortensen and thankfully his scenes were very limited but whenever he was onscreen,it was a welcoming relief.
I have to say directing for this was pretty bad. I sincerely hope Cronenberg does a much better job on his next movie because this was haphazard and shite. I hated the camera works as well. Just because this movie is about psychologists,you dont have to do that over the shoulder shot about 2000 times...for fuck sake! Editing was mediocre and the script was exceptionally boring.

I recommend everyone not to watch this movie as it is a waste of 2 hours and it will only make your blood pressure higher. And if you are a fan of Keira Knightley,please don't talk to me or I will spit at you. If you think this idiot was horrible in Pirates of the Caribbean, she raises (or lowers) the bar to a whole new level. I really hope she doesn't be in movies I wanna watch ever again.
Fuck you Keira... Fuck you very much.

PS - For those who are wondering about the Monty Python scene,here is the link to it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COdT9f-CvhU

Recommended movies done by the director
Eastern Promises
History of Violence
M.Butterfly
The fly
Dead Ringers

Monday, April 16, 2012

Movie review of American Reunion


American Reunion - 6/10
Directed by Jon Hurwitz, Hayden Schlossberg
Cast - Jason Biggs, Alyson Hannigan, Chris Klein, Seann William Scott

Plot Summary
Over a decade has passed and the gang return to East Great Falls, Michigan, for the weekend. They will discover how their lives have developed as they gather for their high school reunion. How has life treated Michelle, Jim, Heather, Oz, Kevin, Vicky, Finch, Stifler, and Stifler's mom? In the summer of 1999, it was four boys on a quest to lose their virginity. Now Kara is a cute high school senior looking for the perfect guy to lose her virginity to.

Review
Just had to watch this for nostalgic reasons.The American Pie series(just the four,didn't give 2 shits about the rest) is definitely one of the classic American comedies during the 90's.It was fun and somehow you do feel that certain characters is like you.Between me and my friends,we all had a Stiffler in us.(That does sound wrong)
It was kinda cool to do a reunion movie at this time cause any longer some of the actors will probably look way older than their character. Alysson Hannigan and Tara Reid look old and horrible especially Reid,she looks dark orange for some fucking weird reason.The scene stealer as usual for all the American Pie series (just the four,still don't give 2 shits about the rest) is none other than Sean William Scott as the infamous Steve Stiffler. Every time he comes on screen, you are bound to laugh your ass off.The shit he says is still funny as hell.The final cameo scene with Stiffler, I think lots of people wont get it.She was uncredited for this movie but her last line was the same line she used in an 80's movie she was famous for.That bit,I got to say was fucking cool.
Directing was ok.Acting and script was good.Lots of familiar faces from the previous installments will show up.Hopefully they do not make another one cause that might just suck ass.

It was pretty obvious that American Reunion was toned down but it kinda worked.The movie is to be watched purely for fun and perhaps nostalgic reasons.I did indeed had a fun time watching this.Worth watching on a weekend.

Best Quotes
Kevin: Were we just as obnoxious as these kids back in the day?
Finch: Not us, our generation, we were more mature.
Steve Stifler: Check it out vagina shark.
[goes under water, girls scream]
Finch: I take that back.

Steve Stifler: Last time I did this cell phones didn't exist.

Jim's Dad: Why is it called Vag? Is it only half a vagina?

Recommended movies done by the director
Harold and Kumar escape from Guantanamo Bay
or just watch back American Pie 1 to 4.

Movie review of Battleship


Battleship - 4.5/10
Directed by Peter Berg
Cast - Liam Neeson, Taylor Kitsch, Alexander Skarsgard, Brooklyn Decker, Rihanna

Plot Summary
A fleet of ships is forced to do battle with an armada of unknown origins in order to discover and thwart their destructive goals.

Review
I knew I was gonna watch a shit movie.I watched it with zero expectations and just wanted to enjoy a brainless action movie laden with top notch special effects.And it was exactly that.Despite the horrendous cringe worthy acting and lines that make you do a face palm every ten seconds,Battleship was kinda ok.I did however enjoyed the action sequences especially the battle scenes between the alien ship that looks like something from Micheal Bay's Deceptacon Transformer and USA's Navy ships.CGI was done by the very same people that did the Transformers series.It's pretty impressive and some of the alien weapons especially the wheel like things that destroys the helicopters and highways look like something directly from Transformers.
As mentioned earlier,acting was horrendous from all the actors.Even Liam Neeson aka Mr "father figure in almost every movie" was bad.The handsomely brooding Alexander Skarsgard aka Eric Northman of True Blood fame didnt do much except shouting at his younger brother half the time.Brooklyn Decker,you would just be looking at her tits only.Taylor Kitsch of John Carter fame was trying to do the Keanu Reeve's "I know kung fu" look every five seconds.As for why Rihanna was cast in this movie,Director Peter Berg replied "I spent a lot of time in the Navy thinking about who would make sense and who would bring an urban swagger to this character...put a call in, had a great couple of meetings, and shes a great girl, really hard-working, very smart, wants to be good, really strong work ethic, no attitude, no diva nonsense. She was great." Great??? Urban swagger?? The fucking wig she was wearing had more urban swagger than her.Just say it as it is Peter Berg...you want to cash in on her popularity so your movie would not fail even though her acting is worse than wood.
Direction was a little mediocre,like I keep saying the actions scenes were shot and directed well but other than that,it was shit.Peter Berg(the fella acted in ER before) has impressed me with movies like Very Bad things,Hancock and The kingdom.I probably will watch another movie he does next. I didn't like the editing especially removing the vulgarities,just by editing out the word fucker from motherfucker is a really stupid way of making this to a PG13 movie.
Oh yeah there was a cheap pathetic version of the classic volleyball scene in Topgun done here as well only they changed it to football.Just from that scene alone,you can clearly see these fuckers have no inkling of how the game is being played.I just couldn't wait for the aliens to come.

Just watch it if you are really bored and watch it on a weekday.

Best quotes
None.

Recommended movies done by the director
Very Bad Things
Hancock
The kingdom
Friday Night lights

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Movie review of A Separation


A Separation - 8/10
Directed by Asghar Farhadi
Cast - Peyman Moadi, Peyman Moadi, Sareh Bayat, Shahab Hosseini

Plot Summary
A married couple are faced with a difficult decision - to improve the life of their child by moving to another country or to stay in Iran and look after a deteriorating parent who has Alzheimer's disease.

Review
This is definitely one of the best foreign movies I have watched this year. Well acted and well done. The casting for this movie is fantastic.I have to say everyone acted very well in this movie.Even the supporting cast like the estranged daughter and the father who has Alzheimer's were fucking brilliant. A separation thoroughly deserves to win the oscar for best foreign movie. Director Asghar Farhandi did such a great job,I will definitely look out for his next movie. The editing and camera works were well done as well. I think most of the camera works are done by a hand held camera.
The array of emotions I went through watching this was just fantastic. Very rarely do masterpieces such as A separation, come along.You will certainly feel for each of the four main characters. I felt anger,sadness and frustration for each character at all separate times during the movie.
I also really liked the way the movie ends with the credits as well.
Unfortunately this movie is no longer in the cinemas,plainly because people like watching shit explode for no apparent reason. I admit sometimes I do too but like I said earlier when a gem like A separation comes along,it's really worth your time to watch it.

Highly recommended.

Best quotes

Simin: He
[Nader's Father]
Simin: doesn't even know who you are.
Nader: He does not know me but i know that he is my father.

Nader: I went there cause I have a sense of humanity.
Hodjat: where was your sense of humanity when you were hitting her ?

Recommended movies done by the director
About Elly

Monday, February 20, 2012

Movie review of Ghost Rider:Spirit of Vengeance


Ghost Rider:Spirit of Vengeance - 1/10
Directed by the assholes who did Crank, Mark Neveldine, Brian Taylor
Cast - Nicholas Cage, Ciaran Hinds,Idris Elba

Plot Summary
As Johnny Blaze hides out in Eastern Europe, he is called upon to stop the devil, who is trying to take human form.

Review
This is pretty much the sequel to the much frowned upon movie of Ghost Rider.The first one was a terrible disaster.you got a near bankrupt actor with a thousand wigs as Johnny Blaze/Ghost Rider.Storyline,acting was so bad,you never thought they will ever do a sequel for it.But they did.The fuckheads that brought you Crank and Crank 2:High Voltage decided to do the sequel for Ghost Rider. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. And just when I thought the first one was bad,it can not get any worse than that...The fuckheads of Crank proved me wrong.In fact they pretty much outdid themselves. This is definitely the worst movie for the year or at least top contender.There was pretty much nothing great in this movie.AND they pissed on whatever the Ghost Rider was about.First, Ghost Rider has a lanjiao Ducati looking sports bike instead of the Harley.And just because he can control any vehicles and turn it into hell,doesn't mean you should get the most ridiculous vehicle and turn it into hell.When I watched Ghost Rider driving this huge construction vehicle which I don't really give a fuck whats its called,you see GR pulling and pushing this crane operator ,I cringed.Second, when he does his terrifying trademark The Penance Stare.... Nothing fucking happens... really nothing. GR just stares at the victim,tilting his head left to right while continually staring.Oh yeah this happens TWICE!! And third, WHY THE FUCK IS HE SWAYING LIKE A FUCKING COBRA?? He comes into the scene where he is surrounded by bad guys and he sways....Knn,That was the most stupidest scene and I was so pissed already.They even changed the outlook of GR. White skull is now a charred skull,leather jackets always seems to be burning but when back to Blaze form,jacket is perfectly fine.
The acting is horrible.Porn has better acting than this. Nic Cage should eat his hair(or whats left of it) and choke to death. Idris Elba's french accent is so fucking exaggerated and so is his coloured contact lenses. Ciaran Hinds looks like a B grade mafia character instead of the devil.
Definitely one of the worst editing I have ever seen.Its like the movie was edited by blind retards.There is no such thing as pacing or plot or storyline.Its just all over.As for direction,I sincerely hope something terrible happens to these two fuckheads who call themselves directors.

Do not watch this movie at all cost. Don't waste your money or even your bandwidth to download this piece of shit.

Best Quotes
None.

Recommended movie done by the directors
None.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Movie review of Girl with the dragon tattoo


Girl with the dragon tattoo - 7.5/10
Directed by David Fincher
Cast - Daniel Craig,Rooney Mara,Julian Sands,Christopher Plummer

Plot Summary
Journalist Mikael Blomkvist is aided in his search for a woman who has been missing for forty years by Lisbeth Salander, a young computer hacker.

Review
I am a big fan of the original Swedish GWTDT.SO when I knew David Fincher was doing a remake of this movie,I have to admit I was a little skeptical.Afraid he might fuck up.Glad I was wrong. Fincher did a fantastic remake of this after all.However,I do still prefer the original mainly because it's traditional,the pacing was slow and the chemistry between Blomkvist played by Michael Nyqvist (Mission Impossible 4) and Lisbeth played by Noomi Rapace (Sherlock Holmes) was brilliant.Rooney Mara was a great choice and she played Lisbeth very well but to me, Noomi Rapace IS Lisbeth Salander. Rooney Mara was just playing a replicate.I also felt Daniel Craig shouldn't have been casted as Mikael Blomkvist.He wasn't old enough and he was still a little too muscular.It was like James Bond in the movie.Even though Craig said he put on weight for this role.Mikael Blomkvist should have been someone older perhaps someone like Harrison Ford.I don't know why I said Ford,maybe its cause I remembered that cheebye movie cowboys and aliens.but yeah someone around that age would be perfect.Christopher Plummer was great as Henrik Vanger and Julian Sands of Warlock fame was the younger version.But to me, the actor who stole the show was none other than Stellan Skarsgard. He was a delight to watch.That scene in the room with Daniel Craig scared the shit out of me. His look when he was saying his lines felt like he really meant it.That was my favorite scene and it was indeed very disturbing. Another disturbing scene was the rape and revenge scene.Executed very well.
I really liked the cinematography and editing was good.Luckily there wasn't any fuckall cuts by the censorshit boars.The pacing is a little faster than the original which is OK and I loved the colour and gloomy look.It did indeed showed a sense of how the characters felt in the movie. Direction is excellent.The whole opening sequence was awesome and captured the key elements of the movie,but I felt it was alittle too extravagant.This is an investigative drama mind you not a Michael Bay-esque action movie.
I really hope Fincher does the other two sequels as well.I didn't really liked the original two so I'm pretty sure he will do a better job out of them.

Definitely worth watching on a weekend. Also try to catch the original so you will understand why I liked Noomi Rapace's Lisbeth Salander better.

Best quotes
Lisbeth Salander: He's had a long standing sexual relationship with his co-editor of the magazine. Sometimes he performs cunnilingus on her. Not often enough in my opinion.

Martin Vanger: Bring your drink, leave my knife.

Martin Vanger: The fear of offending is stronger than the fear of pain.

Recommended movies done by the director
Se7en
Fight Club
Zodiac

Monday, January 9, 2012

Movie review of Jack and Jill


Jack and Jill - 1/10
Directed by Dennis Dugan
Cast - Adam Sandler, Katie Holmes, Al Pacino

Plot Summary
Family guy Jack Sadelstein prepares for the annual event he dreads: the Thanksgiving visit of his twin sister, the needy and passive-aggressive Jill, who then refuses to leave.

Review
If you are going on a date and your date buys two tickets for the movie, Jack and Jill, do yourself a favour,spit and slap at his/her face. Adam Sandler has lost his mind and has started to use his ass to think instead.This is definitely the worst comedy he has ever done.There wasn't even a moment where I could even muster a smile.Perhaps the cameo appearance by Johnny Depp.Even that I had to force a smile like how Christina Ricci(Wednesday) did in Addams Family.Just from the plot itself,it is so fucking clear that Sandler has run out of ideas.Double act as a twin sister??? how low have you gone Sandler. If this was supposed to be a fucking family movie,it has failed at that as well.Brother becomes rich and famous,doesn't give two shits about his mom,makes his twin sister look after the mother and when mother is dead,doesn't give two shits about twin sister,pimps out his twin sister to an actor he is trying to get into doing a commercial.Only an inbred family would watch this. Worst fucking plot ever.
My hatred for this movie dwells even deeper when I saw the cast.Katie Holmes...My 2nd most hated actress.(First place goes to Katherine Heigl.why? she is a slut for popularity and a made in china version of Charlize Theron).Katie Holmes cant fucking act and has a weird retarded smile.Its a good thing she has very limited screen time for this cause nobody likes her and nobody wants to see her.Adam Sandler was never known to be a good actor,he may have done well in PT Anderson's Punch Drunk Love but that's about it. But he was a good comedian,from Saturday night live to his Happy Madison movies in the 90's.Sadly neither did he act nor was he the least bit funny in Jack and Jill.AND WHAT IN BLUE HELL IS AL PACINO DOING IN THIS SHIT INFESTED MOVIE??? He made a complete mockery of himself.Every fucking time he appears in the screen,I fucking groan and feel embarrassed. From Godfather to Scarface to this??If this was his attempt in going into comedy,he should fucking fire his agent.What the fuck was he thinking??? The last scene where he did the dunkin donut commercial.That was just fucking sad.
And speaking of the last scene,that part where both twins finally forgive each other and reunite,they spoke in some retarded baby talk which they created.Fucking stupid....so fucking stupid that I wish I could cut Adam Sandler's heart out with a spoon.(Thank you Alan Rickman)

Avoid this movie like the plague.

Best quotes
None.

Recommended movies done by the director
Happy Gilmore

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Movie review of Sherlock Holmes: A game of shadows


Sherlock Holmes: A game of shadows - 4.5/10
Directed by Guy Ritchie
Cast - Robert Downey Jr,Jude Law,Noomi Rapace, Jared Harris, Rachel McAdams

Plot Summary
Sherlock Holmes and his sidekick Dr. Watson join forces to outwit and bring down their fiercest adversary, Professor Moriarty.

Review
Guy Ritchie's two best movies will forever be Lock, stock and two smoking barrels and Snatch. Everything after that was shit.Sadly I have been watching all his other movies, hoping he would redeem himself but it just keeps getting worse.Right until Sherlock Holmes.Despite a few fuck ups here and there ,I still found the first Sherlock Holmes entertaining. Now it wasn't vintage as lock stock or snatch.It was just bearable.
So when the sequel came out,I thought to myself, this could be better or at least...bearable.Unfortunately it was neither.It was long,boring and repetitive.There were times in the movie,the struggle to keep awake was much more exciting. The script was bad and the acting was mediocre.RDJ's British accent sounds so forced,exaggerated and fake at times.Jude Law played a pretty good sidekick as Dr Watson.The beautiful Noomi Rapace of The girl with a dragon tattoo (original) fame was not so bad,well there wasn't enough screen time for her.But she's a good actress and I'm looking forward to seeing her in the new Ridley Scott movie.Rachel McAdams sadly only appears about ten mins and fucking dies.Jared Harris who portrays Sherlock Holmes arch nemesis,Professor Moriarty was boring and plain.I just wished someone else more villainous could have done much better.
I did however liked the plot but direction has pretty much ruined this movie.There was too much emphasis on the visual effects and the slow motion fight scenes.The fight choreography was good but do we need to see that whole slow motion fight sequence in the mind before the fight thingy all the fucking time? I remember watching that "fighting in the mind" thing in a Zhang Yimou movie.It was Donnie Yen vs Jet Li.Can't remember the title though.
That being said. Guy Ritchie is back on my list of shit directors.Whatever he does will probably have a 70% chance of turning to shit unlike Brett Ratner who by any means of associating himself in a movie,That movie will be shit,Fuck Brett Ratner and Fuck Guy Ritchie.

Not worth watching on a weekend.Just wait for TV release.

Best Quote
Sherlock Holmes: Uh, hmm... Right. Where are the wagons?
Madam Simza Heron: The wagon is too slow. Can't you ride?
Dr. John Watson: It's not that he can't ride... How is it you put it, hon?
Sherlock Holmes: They're dangerous at both ends and... crafty in the middle. Why would I want anything with a mind of its own bobbing about between my legs?

Sherlock Holmes: [referring to his disguise] It's so overt it's covert.

Recommended movies done by the director
Lock stock and two smoking barrels
Snatch