Saturday, December 31, 2016

Movie review of Passengers

Passengers - 6.5/10

I was pleasantly surprised watching this movie. The story line was interesting even though it had the Hollywood-esque romantic angle in it. Ending is a typical Hollywood end but still Passengers was fun to watch.
Director Morten Tyldum did a good job in this. I really liked his previous works, the Imitation Game and Headhunters.
Wonderful special effects especially the swimming pool scene, loved it.
Casting wise, I would say, Christ Pratt was good but the chemistry between him and Jennifer Lawrence felt a little stiff to me. Didn't quite liked how Jennifer Lawrence looked as well. Perhaps another actress would have been a better fit. Lawrence Fishburne had a brief scene and that's a good thing. Even shorter scene was a barely recognizable and old, Andy Garcia who didn't even have a line. But the actor who stole the movie for me is the unforgettable Michael Sheen. And that one reveal scene, he was in. Sheen was perfect for it. That scene alone is worth the ticket money for me. I was the only one laughing cause of that look he gave. Absolutely brilliant.

All in all, Passengers is a good romantic movie to watch with your other half and you wont fall asleep cause there isn't too much lovey dovey shit in it and there is enough action to keep you interested.
Worth watching on a weekend.

Friday, December 30, 2016

Movie review of Rogue One

Rogue One  - 8/10

I couldn't wait for this movie to be out and when I finally had the chance to watch it, Rogue One did not disappoint me one bit.
I loved the pacing of the movie, started slow and then towards the end it went full blast. The storytelling was good as well. It was really nice when they added characters from the Star Wars expanded universe and also from the animated series, Rebels.

I was also happy they did not alter the ending, meaning no one survives. The last thing, I want to see is the protagonist getting away and doing another 3 more fucking movies or worse, make 2 parts of 1 movie with a long draggy end.(Fuck Hunger Games)

Director Gareth Edwards did a good job. Editing was fantastic and the special effects were awesome.

Casting for Rogue One was good. A lot more diversity in it. It was really nice to see Diego Luna. I haven't seen him in movies for awhile now. First time I have heard of him is the now classic, Y Tu Mamá También. Felicity Jones as Jyn was good. I have not seen much of her movies but I'm sure to check her out now. This is just me but between Felicity Jones and Daisy Ridley(Force Awakens), I prefer Felicity. Mainly because she doesn't have that Keira Knightley syndrome and Daisy tend to have that. And Alan Tudyk as K-2SO was brilliant.

Great to see Forest Whitaker and not so great to see Donnie Yen. Yup, I still find Donnie Yen's acting annoying.

The characters I was impressed were the back to life CGI character of Tarkin(late Peter Cushing) and the young Princess Leia(late Carrie Fisher). The CGI is absolutely amazing.

Of course nothing beats towards the end of the movie when Darth Vader arrives and rapes almost every one of those rebel scums. And to make it even more sweet, James Earl Jones does the usual VO. So I am a happy man.

Worth watching on a weekend and I will definitely get the blu ray for this.

May the force be with all of you.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Movie review of Suicide Squad

Suicide Squad - 3.5/10


I watched Suicide Squad with extremely low expectations. All because of Batman vs Superman was a major shit fest and I did not like the trailers as well. The thing is you have to watch SS with low expectations and then only maybe.... just maybe can you enjoy the movie a bit.

First of all, what the fuck is up with the fucking music? Is there a fucking need to put a song clip every 2 mins(exaggerated)? Yes, the song selections are good but there is no need to cram all kinds of songs in a movie. there are moments where there are 2 to 3 songs in just one scene. That's just silly.

Casting is a little hit and miss for me. Will Smith as a black Deadshot... ok lah, he usually does pretty good movies and selects his roles well unless he has to act with his idiot son, then we have a problem. Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn is not bad actually. That was quite a bit of a surprise to me. You have these two cheebyes, Jai Courtney and Joel Kinnaman. One fucker ruined Die Hard 5 for me (Fuck you), while the other fucker ruined Robocop (Fuck you too). Cara Delevingne, pretty girl but I don't know what or who the fuck is an Enchantress and I didn't really care until the end where she is making some sort of machine and she is doing that by dancing. That really reminded me of the demon in Ghostbusters (original not the new shit) and that demon does a better job than lanjiaotress. Fuck that. Killer Croc has weird tits(thanks Josh) and Diablo is a whiny pussy. Oh, you also have a Navajo cheebye from the movie Windtalkers who has a screen time of 2 fucking mins. WHY?

One of the main reasons I wanted to watch Suicide Squad was to see Jared Leto's portrayal of the Joker. But unfortunately, he has only about 10 mins of screen time and I can't really judge him from that. His Joker is definitely different than Heath Ledger's Joker, that's for sure. In fact, he shouldn't even be in this movie at all. He appears more in that Rick Ross music video, Purple Lamborghini than this movie.

All because of the one reason why Suicide Squad sucked major ass. It's the editing. This movie has one of the worst editing done. There are so many scenes and shots cut out that sometimes I have no fucking idea what is going on. Whatever you have seen in the trailers does not appear in the final cut. I don't know if it is about timing issue or the editors just wanted to fuck shit up. I sincerely hope there is a director's cut for SS and I hope it makes more sense.

Watch Suicide Squad on a weekday or just wait for the extended version cause the cuts will piss you off.

Movie review of Jason Bourne

Jason Bourne - 7/10

The return of Jason Bourne. I've enjoyed watching all three Bourne movies which Matt Damon acted. The one with Jeremy Renner was shit. This is also directed by Paul Greengrass which is fantastic because I have to say Doug Liman did a great job for the first Bourne movie, Paul Greengrass took over and totally upped the action sequences. The way the fight scenes were filmed was beautiful. Not to forget the car or motorcycle scenes are done in such a way that the viewer will feel that he is part of scene as well. Also Bourne movies have really brilliant editing and Jason Bourne is no different from the first three. It has really good action sequences, fight choreography and it has been edited very well.

Casting for Jason Bourne has been interesting. Tommy Lee Jones looks really old and I cant stop looking at his eye bags whenever there is a close up of him but despite his age, Jones does a good job. Vincent Cassel is another actor, I haven't seen in a while and he definitely is one of my favourite "assets" among the Bourne series.

There are some incredible scenes to look out for. The riot scene was shot very well. The car chase in Las Vegas as well. The last fight scene is shot with minimal lighting and I was blown away by that. 

Brilliant movie, plot is a little forgettable but still definitely worth watching in the cinema or getting the Blu ray.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Movie review of Star Trek Beyond



Star Trek Beyond - 6/10

Star Trek Beyond was surprisingly good. I am not a trekkie but I did enjoy the first Star Trek directed by JJ Abrams. The second one to me was visually good but I didn't enjoy the story one bit. And it focused on the two main characters, Kirk and Spock a little too much.

Star Trek Beyond on the other hand focused more on the other characters which made it more fun to watch. The chemistry between Spock and Bones was funny and the other pair up, Scotty and Jaylah was good as well. I was surprised to know that Simon Pegg wrote this and I have to say he did a pretty good job. However, his Scottish accent was just too exaggerated and sounded fake at times. Still, kudos to Pegg. The villain, Krall portrayed by the wonderful Idris Elba was a delight to watch. He should really do more villainous characters cause of his voice and acting. He was fucking brilliant in Jungle Book.

Justin Liu, director of some of the Fast and Furious franchise directed Star Trek Beyond and I have to say he can add sci fi action movies to his repertoire. He did a good job on this. The one thing I found annoying and I did not like was the camera works. The whole revolving camera bit was just done too many times.
Other than that Star Trek Beyond was enjoyable and fun to watch in the cinemas.

Worth watching in the cinema if it is still running if not get the DVD or Blu ray.

Review of Ghostbusters



Ghostbusters - 4/10

I was really disappointed after watching Ghostbusters. To me, the classic was always great and doesn't
need a reboot but Hollywood being a cheebye had to do it and ruin yet another of my favorite childhood movies.

I'm ok with the whole gender swapped roles and all. The actresses all are very good comedians. McCarthy and Wiig are seasoned ones but somehow most of their jokes fell flat and the chemistry just doesnt seem to be there. Leslie Jones on the other hand was funny. She had at least 2 really funny scenes with great delivery. Kate Mckinnon was the worst of them all. All her jokes were not funny and her delivery was absolute shit. And she was supposed to be the "Egon Spengler" of the group. Rubbish.

I understand its all girl power being promoted for the movie which is cool but come on.... Do you really need to make Chris Hemsworth's character as a complete idiot? What is the point? It doesn't make any fucking sense. All of Hemsworth's scenes were stupid, unnecessary and not funny at all. In the original, the receptionist wasn't an idiot. I didn't get that plot at all.

Script was boring. I only found 2 scenes funny and they were all Leslie Jones. If they did ad lib for some of the scenes, it was boring as well.

The only good thing about Ghostbusters is, I got to see all the original cast in cameos except for Rick Moranis( who has retired). That was the only saving grace for this movie.

Ghostbusters 2016 is easily forgettable. Just wait for cable. Or if you really wanna good laugh, just watch the original.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Movie review of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice - 6/10

There has been a lot of mixed reviews on Dawn of Justice. Some would love it, some hate it. And I don't blame them because movies directed by Zack Snyder have always been like that. He is very inconsistent with his movies. 300 was his best, that is without a doubt. His version of Dawn of the dead was fun (freaked me out when the zombies started running). I enjoyed Watchmen as well and in my opinion, he did a fantastic job on that. And then there was sucker punch which was absolute shit. Quite a number of people disliked Man of Steel, but I found it watchable. I'm not a fan of Superman but MOS was definitely better than Superman returns(Bryan Singer).
Dawn of Justice has to be Snyder's biggest project and he may or may not have fucked this up or he might just be M. Night Shymalan in disguise... It all depends on you.

First of all, I felt the movie was way too long. 2.5 hours is a tad too long for a superhero movie. And the movie doesn't seem to have a proper ending, it just went on and on.
Horrible editing. It was as though the editors watched a Michael Bay movies marathon before editing. Very abrupt cuts. There are some scenes you have no idea what the fuck is going on, it was so all of a sudden. It doesn't even give you a clue what that scene was about. Was it a flashback or a dream sequence(Superflies? really?) or what?
Script was downright awful. here's an example. Louis Lane says " I'm not a lady. I'm a journalist." Knn... then what the fuck are you?
I wanted to slap her for that.
Casting was annoying. Jeremy Irons as Alfred seemed bored or probably high in all of his scenes. Louis Lane was irritating. She had really annoying lines and does some really stupid shit. Lawrence Fishburne thought he was still in that Predators movie cause half the fuck time he is shouting and whispering like a lunatic. The only time Fishburne was fantastic was when he was Ike Turner. That's it. I've never liked Jesse Eisenberg's acting. Period. Almost all of his movies, he has that really annoying stuttering and mumbling way of saying his lines that bugsthe hell out of  me. But I will give credit to him for that last scene though. That was some really maniacal acting there. Good stuff. When they announced that Ben Affleck is the next Batman, I'm pretty sure he wasn't liked that much. But I thought he was fantastic as Batman/Bruce Wayne. His batman voice was way much better than Christian Bale's. A much lesser more audible death metal growl. Affleck's Batman doesn't seem to mind killing and is more brutal. Of course comics Batman doesn't kill but I really like this new brutal doesn't give a shit Batman. He has some very good fight scenes and one of them has the similarities of the Batman video game, Arkham Asylum. I do want to see more of Ben Affleck as Batman cause I'm curious to see how he is going to carry the role further. Superman(Henry Cavhill) on the other hand is a cheebye. Fella nicely has been killing people and then when asked, he gives a "no lah where got" reply. Hahahahahaha.
Gal Gadot's entrance as Wonder woman was pretty cool and I'm pretty sure she can handle it on her own. I was pleasantly surprised by Wonder woman especially during the climatic battle. Boy, is she strong....

There are a lot of problems with Dawn of Justice. The inconsistencies are very obvious and laughable at times. The good thing is the tone of the movie is dark unlike Avengers where everyone is joking with each other. Snyder might have copied some of the scenes from various movies and like I mentioned before, he is inconsistent but it is watchable...barely just barely. It has its awesome moments and tonnes of nonsensical "wtf"shit moments. Just watch it with low expectations.

Monday, February 22, 2016

Movie review of Deadpool



Deadpool - 8.5/10

I was really looking forward to watching this movie ever since I found out they finally had the chance to do so. Got to give the credits to the writers who worked very hard to get this movie a green light from Fox and to make it R rated. Well done guys.
I've been a fan of Deadpool comics and always hoped to see him on a big screen. When I found out he was appearing in Wolverine Origin movie, I was excited. Then I watched the movie and it was one of the worst shit comic movies, I've ever seen. I was sorely disappointed. The only good thing that came out from that horror dump was the casting of Deadpool. Ryan Reynolds was perfect. And then they did really horrible things to his character which I'm not gonna bother cause Wolverine Origin was really painful to watch and remember.
To me, Deadpool is the best Marvel movie and I thoroughly enjoyed it. And if you are not a fan of the comic, I'm pretty sure you will still enjoy the movie. Some of my friends who aren't comic book readers enjoyed it alot. I have to say the main reason for this is the script and the soundtrack. The script was really funny and nostalgic. There are some jokes that only those in their thirties will get. There are so many movie and music references in Deadpool and you are bound to laugh at all of them.
I also enjoyed the soundtrack and the songs chosen were fantastic and perfect at their required scenes. They were so good that I was bopping my head to the music.
Tim Miller did a good job as the director. Not bad for a guy who's doing this for the first time for a major movie. I hope he gets to direct the sequel as well.

Deadpool is definitely my favourite movie of the month. I would love to watch it again on the big screen and I will definitely get this on Blu ray.

I highly recommend all of you to catch it with your loved ones. Just don't be an idiot and watch it with kids. And wait for the end credits. Definitely my favourite Marvel end credit scene.

Maximum Effort!

Friday, January 15, 2016

Movie review of Sisters

Sisters - 4.5/10

Sisters is a typical American slapstick comedy, The type you just leave your brains behind and just watch for the fun of it. Nothing fantastic except for a few funny scenes, and its pretty forgettable. Sisters is the kind of movie you just switch on something while you have your lunch or dinner which is what I exactly did.

The casting is pretty decent. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler who have done a few movies together and Saturday Night Live for awhile now have really good chemistry with each other. Them as sisters is pretty believable.

Like I said its a typical American comedy so don't expect nothing but a few laughs here and there even though some of the scenes and plot is incredibly stupid.

Worth watching on a weekday or just wait for cable. You are not missing much.